Review: The Secret #1, The Secret of Ella and Micha by Jessica Sorensen

The Secret of Ella and Micha (The Secret, #1)Blurb from Goodreads

Ella and Micha have been best friends since they were kids. But one tragic night shatters their friendship and their lives forever.

Ella used to be a rule-breaker with fiery attitude who wore her heart on her sleeve. But she left everything behind when she went to college and transformed into someone that follows the rules, keeps everything together, and hides all her problems. But now it’s summer break and she has nowhere else to go but home.

Ella fears everything she worked so hard to bury might resurface, especially with Micha living right next door. If Micha tries to tempt the old her back, she knows that it will be hard to resist.
Micha is sexy, smart, confident, and can get under Ella’s skin like no one else can. He knows everything about her, including her darkest secrets. And he’s determined to bring his best friend, and the girl he loves back, no matter what it takes.

Paperback, 316 pages
Published October 4th 2012 (first published October 2nd, 2012)
edition language: English
genres: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
series: The Secret #1
 
My Thoughts
This is my second book from Jessica Sorensen, although I enjoyed it I prefer The Coincidence of Callie and Kayden. Ella & Micha’s story didn’t as tense as Callie & Kayden. In the beginning of the story I find hard to like Ella. I know she has a lot of issues and she’s afraid of it but I think it is not a reason to leave Micha. I also a little bit confused with her when she meet Micha again after 8 months. She said that she has a new personality and want to stay away from Micha but I cannot feel it. I can’t feel the new her aside from Lila’s description and I don’t think she stay away enough from Micha. If she really wants to stay away she won’t come to Micha Party as soon as she’s at home.Yet there are some parts that I liked. Ella & Micha’s issues are kind of heavy but Ms. Sorensen brought it slowly I can understand their fear. I also liked the relationship between Micha & his mom. Though his mom is just a glimpse in the story I can feel their connection. Last, I loved the cover. It’s so simple but can capture the story.
 
Favorite quote: “you can’t just change who you are on the outside and expect it to change who you are on the inside.”
 
Result: 3/5 Stars
Leave a Reply

