Once Upon A Time

For as long as I remember, I always love reading. I think I got it from my father. He is an avid reader and often asked me to read anything when I was a child. He also likes to buy books. One of his collection is a book by Indonesia’s first president, Soekarno, Dibawah Bendera Revolusi which published on 1963. If you want to take a look, here is it:

PicsArt_1371985520670PicsArt_1371981215800

20130623_153258

It’s in hardcover and has a box, to prevent the book from damage but I think he cannot avoid it since it’s an old book and he didn’t take good care of it. I once read that it’s quite a famous book and people still look for it for their collection. I don’t know whether or not it’s true but he still has it and sit proudly on his bookshelf. I’d like to think that it is mine also, since there is no one who loves to read in the family aside the two of us. Yet, I never read it. I tried it once a couple years ago but it’s so hard for me to understand it since it was written in Indonesian old spelling and some chapters are in Dutch. I still want to read it, though. Maybe someday.

As for me, I grew up by reading detective stories. How I love Enid Blyton’s Famous Five and crazy in love with Jupiter Jones, Pete Crensaw and Bob Andrews from Alfred Hitchcock and the Three Investigators. When I was in junior high school I began to read Agatha Christie’s books and never get enough of hers. I think I have more than 20 books of her books. But in the beginning, I only have 2 books, Elephants Can Remember and The Seven Dials Mystery, my aunt gave it to me as a birthday presents. I used to trade it to borrow Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s Sherlock Holmes and another Agatha Christie’s books from my high school friends. As I get older, my father didn’t buy me books anymore. I have to save my pocket money to buy it. Then, it became a habit too. I love buying books as much as love reading it. Most of my childhood collections are gone now, but I still have a few of them on my bookshelf. Here they are:

AC 3 frames sharpen

PicsArt_1371987674338PicsArt_1371987928087

How about you? What’s your story?

3 thoughts on “Once Upon A Time

  1. OMG! I cannot believe that you read the Three Investigators! I loved those books so much, lol! Also, my dad was a big reader so he probably influenced me a lot too, but he loved commercial fiction, a lot of paperbacks. The only difference is: many of the women in my family are also big readers:D Everyone in our family has different tastes, but almost everyone reads. I’m probably the biggest reader of fantasy in my family.

    • Ah….another common things between us! I still have 4 or 5 Alfred Hitchcock and the Three Investigators. It’s already yellowish and all but still readable. I think Jupiter Jones is my first book boy crush 😀

Leave a Reply

