Review: An Unfortunate Fairy Tale # UnEnchanted by Chanda Hahn

UnEnchanted (An Unfortunate Fairy Tale, #1)

Blurb from Goodreads

Mina Grime is unlucky, unpopular and uncoordinated, that is until she saves her crush’s life on a field trip, changing her High School status from loser to hero overnight. But with her newfound fame brings misfortune as an old family curse come to light. For Mina is descended from the Brothers Grimm and has inherited all of their unfinished fairy tale business. Which includes trying to outwit a powerful Story from making her its next fairytale victim.

To break the fairy tale curse on her family and stop these deadly events, Mina must finish the tales until the very Grimm end.

Kindle Edition, 216 pages
Published: 2011 by Chanda Hahn
edition language: English
genre: Paranormal, Young Adult
series: An Unfortunate Fairy Tale #1
My Thought
I’m sure most of people in this planet know who Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm are or at least familiar with some of stories they were collected. The brother Grimm and their stories are the main theme of this book. The main character, Wilhelmina or Mina Grime is a great great great granddaughter of Wilhelm Grimm. Apparently when the brothers collected the stories they made a deal with the fae. It caused a very long curse among The Grimms and Mina tended to break it free by write a new story.

I liked the beginning of the story. It was funny and I can feel her awkwardness. I also liked her relationship with her bestfriend, Nan. Although they have different characters, I can feel they are really bestfriend.

But then, as the stories go I’m annoyed with Mina. Her naivety to what really happen and couldn’t figure out in which story she really is make me want to scream at her. I cannot believe how come she’s so clueless when there are lots of clues around her.

Usually I don’t mind of typos and grammatical errors as long as I understand it. English isn’t my first language so who I am judging what is wrong and how is supposed to be when I’m still learning it. Yet in this story, I cannot ignore those typos and grammatical error, it’s so inevitable and I have to reread a couple of time to understand it. The writing also quite distracts me it didn’t as smooth as any other books I’ve read. Sometime I feel like there isn’t a connection between sentences and paragraphs. I cannot feel it. But I like the ending, it’s quite unpredictable and it’s make me want to read the sequel, Fairest

Result: 2.5/5 Stars
2 thoughts on “Review: An Unfortunate Fairy Tale # UnEnchanted by Chanda Hahn

  1. Pingback: Unenchanted (An Unfortunate Fairytale #1) | A World of Books

    • Thanks Heidi, actually I liked this book, it’s so funny. I remember I love Mina & Nan’s relationship, it’s Mina clueless to what happen that mostly annoyed me. But I think I’ll read its sequel. If you have read it, will you tell me what you think of it? I want to know your opinion 🙂

Leave a Reply

