Review: Drew + Fable #1, One Week Girlfriend

One Week Girlfriend (Drew + Fable, #1)

Blurb from Goodreads

Temporary. That one single word best describes my life these last few years. I’m working at a temporary job until I can finally break free. I’m my little brother’s temporary mother since our mom doesn’t give a crap about either of us. And I’m that temporary girl all the guys want to get with because I give it up so easily. According to the rumors, at least.

But now I’m the temporary girlfriend of Drew Callahan, college football legend and all around golden guy. He’s beautiful, sweet—and he’s hiding way more secrets than I am. He’s brought me into this fake life where everyone seems to hate me. And everyone seems to want something from him. The only thing he seems to want though is…

Me.

I don’t know what to believe anymore. All I know is, I think Drew needs me. And I want to be there for him.

Forever.

Paperback, 155 pages
Published January 10th 2013 by Monica Murphy
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
series: Drew + Fable #1
My Thoughts
Dear Ms. Murphy

My reaction after read the blurb was

https://i2.wp.com/24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_maeil24gXC1rfpu5vo1_500.gif
It gave impression that Fable, the female character has a dysfunctional family. To be honest I love reading that kind of story, it’s my guilty pleasure. So of course I have to get it and read it as soon as I can.

As much as it intrigued me, I found that the story quite predictable. From the beginning of the story I can point out Drew’s past. Yet it was still enjoyable to read.

Read it made me lack of sleep because I couldn’t put it down until the last pages. I finished it at 2 AM while I have to go to work at 8 AM.

Since your book made me sleepy a whole day and I cannot erase Drew & Fable story from my head, I have to blame you to caused me dizzy 😀

Hence, I’m willing to experience it again. I don’t bother lack of sleep and dizzy if the sequel will be better than it.

My favorite part of this book is the main characters. Fable, she’s so strong and persistent, witty and like her sarcasm. She doesn’t let Drew’s rejection avoid her to stand by his side, while you make Drew more vulnerable than another male character I’ve read. But I like it, because in his story it’s more believable to him to be vulnerable.

As your debut, I think you doing it well. You know how to write scenes more realistic so I, as a reader can feel what the characters feel. I also like your writing. You make it become unputdownable story.

Love your code word, marshmallow by the way. I always admire authors who could put something new on their story. Like what you did in this book. I never thought marshmallow as a code word but now I think it’s kind of cute and like Fable said, it indeed a random word yet her reason is believable.

Look forward for the sequel of Drew & Fable story.

On the other side I also want to read about Owen. I love Fable & Owen relationship and how she loves him and she will do anything for him.

Wish you could surprise me in your next books because I’m sure you can do much better than your debut. I mean, I really like this book that’s why I gave it 3.5 stars but I believe you could write unpredictable story also.

Best Regard
-Rachmi-

Result: 3/5 Stars
Leave a Reply

