Review: Drew + Fable #2, Second Chance Boyfriend by Monica Murphy

Second Chance Boyfriend (Drew + Fable, #2)

Blurb from Goodreads

Lost. That one single word best describes my life at this very moment. I lost the last games of the season and both my team and my coach blame me. I lost the last two months because I drowned in my own despair like a complete loser. And I lost the only girl who ever mattered because I was afraid being with me would destroy her.

But now I realize how truly lost I am without her. She has become my story…and even though she acts like she’s moved on, I know she still thinks about me just as much as I think about her. She’s beautiful, sweet—and so damn vulnerable, all I want to do is help her. Be there for her.

Love her…

If only I could convince Fable to give me a second chance. Then I wouldn’t feel so lost anymore, and neither would she. We could be found together.

Forever.

ebook, 210 pages
Published: April 6th 2013 by Monica Murphy (first published April 5th 2013)
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary Romance, New Adult
series: Drew + Fable #2
My Thoughts
Messages > Compose New Message
from: Rachmi Febrianty
to: Monica Murphy
subject: My second read on your second book, Second Chance Boyfriend
message:

Dear Ms. Murphy,
I don’t know whether you read or not my review of One Week Girlfriend
a couple months ago. But I like to think that you read it. I said that although I enjoyed and liked it, it was quite predictable to me. I sort of could guess Drew problems from the beginning of the story.

Yet I believe you could make an unpredictable story. And I find it here in your second book. The thing is when I read an unputdownable story, my mind can’t stop wondering about it. Sometime I can guess it and it make me kind of disappointed because I love the feeling when I cannot ‘read’ the characters mind. When I read Second Chance Boyfriend I know that Drew left Fable, I realize that they love each other and I kind of have my own thought about their story but I’m not sure about it. You made me wondering where you are going to bring their story. I wonder what will happen to them, but my mind just wondering without knowing what will be. You put surprises in it, surprises that I didn’t thought when I read. It’s like while my mind wondering I just reading it and enjoying their story. I love it, I love knowing that you can trick me and show me that you can make unpredictable story. And I still love the characters, especially Fable. I love that she’s so strong and independent and never give up on Drew.
One most prominent thing that made me enjoyed your books is your writing. To be honest it was your writing that kept me read One Week Girlfriend. You put emotion in it. I can feel it, believe it and connected to the story and the characters. And you still do it in Second Chance Boyfriend, even better.

That’s why I will read your next and a lot of next books. I know you said Drew and Fable story is finished. But since they keep whispering in your head, I hope I can read their story again, though it just a glimpse in other characters stories because seriously I want to read Colin, Jen and especially Owen story. I think they are fucked up mess too and from Drew and Fable experience I know you can make a perfect fucked up mess couple. I think they deserve their own story or maybe it because I cannot let them go. I don’t mind whatever the reasons as long as you make unputdownable unpredictable enjoying stories.

But I have one tiny problem in this book. In chapter one I read that Colin eyes are blue, Fable said Into the bluest eyes I’ve ever seen. Bluer than Drew’s, if that’s possible but then in chapter three Colin comes in, offering murmured words to Jen I couldn’t quite catch before he locks his gaze with mine and heads toward me. “Much improved,” he says, stopping directly in front of me, crossing his arms in front of him. He’s wearing a black T-shirt that stretches across his wide shoulders and chest and black pants. The dark clothing only seems to emphasize the golden hair, the golden skin, the pale green eyes. Is it just me or it is one tiny inconsistency?

Since I loved and enjoyed this book, I have a song that keep lingering in my mind while I read it. I think it’s perfect for Drew and Fable. Hope you think it too. It called Demons, by

https://i0.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/5ed11841f7d3f838147a89a29d52d2e6/tumblr_mkhl1bQjrD1s0k93eo1_250.gif https://i1.wp.com/24.media.tumblr.com/6598a302cbb8863f73d9067c579d5520/tumblr_mkhl1bQjrD1s0k93eo2_250.gif
Best Regards,
Rachmi
(your 1270th Second Chance Boyfriend readers in Goodreads)
Result: 4/5 Stars
Leave a Reply

