Review: Queen of the Realm of Faerie #1, Nandana’s Mark

Nandana's Mark (Queen of the Realm of Faerie, #1)Blurb from Goodreads

As a half-faerie and an outcast, Melia longs to fly–like her mother and the other fullblood faeries. However, her lack of wings becomes the least of her concerns when startling visions of destruction, linked to her father’s ambitions, escalate. Desperate to stop them, Melia visits the Illustrator and receives a strange mark on her forehead. The mark will draw a green-eyed stranger–one who shares her obsessions–to the Realm of Faerie.

The Queen of the Realm of Faerie series is inspired by the 14th century French fairy tale, Melusine.

ebook, 210 pages
Published August 14th 2012 by Half-Faerie Publishing
edition language: English
genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
series: Queen of the Realm of Faerie #1
My Thoughts
Fantasy is my most favorite genre. It’s full of imagination and magic. I didn’t mean other genre doesn’t have it but fantasy book always has stories beyond my imagination and allow my thought wandering to the mystical place with awesome characters. Nandana’s Mark has a lot of thing a fantasy book I loved and it contains with characters from original story. I love when story takes from the original. A story that I used to know then the author creates a new one. Here I met elves, faeries, trolls, witches, dwarves with their metalwork skill, serpentine and even a tool that can see what happen in the present and future, a tool similar to the mirror of Galadriel or Dumbledore’s Pensieve. Here it called Ormrun, a bejeweled basin forged by Gweff, the dwarf.
https://i0.wp.com/24.media.tumblr.com/5e42ddf11b4088f99da67b3991be2b87/tumblr_mgkb3klP3A1s2zwdzo1_500.jpg
I have to admit it was a little bit hard reading this book in the beginning of the story. There are a lot of name for a lot of character and places. In some parts I cannot differentiate whether it is a place or character’s name. On the other hand, I love those names. It feels and sounds suitable with the story. The elves and faeries name sounds beautiful, as beautiful as their appearance. The places name match with its magical world. I even think one of the character’s names, Ryder, is a good choice for him. He isn’t from The Realm of Faerie so his name has sound different from Melia’s kin but fit with the whole story. I kind of hope his name has another meaning, more than just a word to call him. Just like Aragorn who also known as Strider. Yet, I like the way Ms. Garrett wrote her story. The writing was beautiful and flawless. I can’t believe this is her debut. She and her editor surely did a great job.
https://i0.wp.com/24.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_mcsvmyNZJh1r27kpco1_1280.jpg
Another thing that quite hard for me was its geography. After read chapter one I knew that there are two worlds, The Enchanted World and Mortal World. At first I thought that The Enchanted World is consists of Illialei and Tyrannis then I read about Ryder. I feel he isn’t from The Enchanted World but I know that he isn’t from Mortal World either. That left me a question where is he come from? Then it reveals in a couple more chapters that The Enchanted World actually consists of The Realm of Faerie and many other places while Illialei and Tyrannis are countries in The Realm of Faerie. The Realm of Faerie itself described in chapter 11 so I misinterpreted it for 10 chapters. It kind of irritated me, but to be honest I actually can avoid it if I look at in the back of the book. There are glossaries in the back but I’m kind of person who don’t like to look at the end of the book to avoid spoiler. So I didn’t realize there are glossaries in it until a while. It taught me to look carefully to book’s contents though 😀To avoid the confusion of its geography I think it will be good if Ms. Garrett put a map on the book or even better 2 maps. A map about The Realm of the Faerie put in the front and The Enchanted World in the back of the book. I bet it will help readers to read and picture it easily.

Other than that, I love Nandana’s Mark, it has everything I love from fantasy book. I honestly think it needs to be recognized and read by many readers.
Result: 4/5 Stars
Leave a Reply

