Review: The Archers of Avalon #1, Anew by Chelsea Fine

Anew (The Archers of Avalon, #1)Blurb from Goodreads

Two years ago, Scarlet awoke in the forest alone, afraid, and unable to remember anything. Lost and confused, her life was a mystery…until she met a boy with a familiar voice.

Gabriel Archer has a voice from her past, and Scarlet’s determined to remember why. She immerses herself in his life only to discover he has a brother he’s kept hidden from her: Tristan Archer.

Upon meeting Tristan, Scarlet’s world becomes even more muddled. While she’s instinctively drawn to Gabriel, she’s impossibly drawn to Tristan–and confused out of her mind. As she tries to piece together her history Scarlet realizes her past…might just be the death of her.

Paperback, 385 pages
Published: December 7th 2011 by Firefall Publishing (first published December 5th 2011)
edition language: English
genre: Paranormal Romance, Young Adult
series: The Archers of Avalon #1
My Thoughts
My first 5 shining stars of 2013 goes to….
https://i2.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/98a08470b2bc330ab94410e8a18b917e/tumblr_mfq6asqpMi1qjvwu3o1_500h.jpg
https://i1.wp.com/media.tumblr.com/tumblr_m3wz6cEw9e1qc9lhz.gif
First of all I want to thank my friend Sarah, who convinced me to read this book A-S-A-P *Heather mode*. Although it wasn’t as soon as possible as I wanted to, I’m glad I read it now when I have all of the series so that I don’t need to wait longer for the sequels. And most of all thank you to Ms. Chelsea Fine who wrote this amazing book that without a doubt will be on my favorite series shelf and I will definitely read it again and again and again in the future.

There are reasons why I loved and enjoyed this book, so let me explain it. Reincarnation and long lost soul mate are one of common stories. But then again I believe there aren’t stories that don’t influenced by other stories. It authors jobs to make it their own story. I don’t mind if the story has similarity and influenced by others as long as it has its originality. Anew is a story like that, though the main theme wasn’t new, Ms. Fine brought it differently it makes this reincarnation-long-lost-soul-mate kind of story become her own story. It is kind of fresh story to me. This story has many elements, romance, humor and paranormal but none of it overwhelmed each other. It’s perfect and completed those elements.

The characters are also perfect. No one has bigger portion than another. And most important is I can feel and connect with all of them. I love scarlet & heather friendship, I like their B-F-F *again in heather mode* though heather is kind of noisy-witty bestfriend she completes scarlet personality. She made me look forward her wittiness. She’s the one who keep scarlet normal and I can see that they are only 17 year old. I also love the Archers brothers, their look alike with different personality, again it make me see that there aren’t similar person, each person is unique and I love the fact their difference influenced their act. Laura and Nate as supporting characters are also great, I look forward for their story and I believe they have bigger role in the sequels.

Character name is one of my elements to connect to the story. It’s weird, I know but I find there are uncommon character name nowadays. If the names suitable with the story I can feel they are really belong to the story thus it makes me connect to the story itself. Gabriel, Tristan, Nathaniel and Scarlet are names from a long time ago. I mean there are classic story and famous people with those names, so it makes sense if they came from hundreds years ago. And Gabriel and Tristan are my most favorite boy names so of course I love it 😀

Although Anew is not pure unpredictable story, I still got surprises here and there. It also made me keep wondering, keep guessing where the story goes and made my heart beat with the characters. But there are issued that I think need to be explained more. Yet it didn’t stop me to give it 5 stars because I still hope there will be more explanation and description in the sequel, after all this is just a prequel, a beginning to the whole story.
All in all I loved and enjoyed Anew and surely can’t wait for the sequel, Awry. As Tristan said, if you had this book, you have to read it today. It’s so worth reading and I bet you won’t regret it.
https://i1.wp.com/25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_mdp6bggIL31r9d3vmo1_500.png
Favorite Quotes:
“Knowing death is nearby gives you a chance to live…deliberately.”
“Before he knew he was immortal. Before life was no longer fragile. Those were the days when life truly meant something. When life was hard but worthwile, and love was valuable because your days were numbered. That was living.”
“Scarlet watched a leaf fall to the ground, lying dead amoung the other leaves on the forest floor. “A brief life seems pointless.”
Tristan thought for a moment. “Isn’t that what life is, though? A brief opportunity to exist? A short gift?”
Result: 5/5 Stars
Leave a Reply

