Review: The Archers of Avalon #2, Awry by Chelsea Fine

Awry (The Archers of Avalon, #2)Blurb from Goodreads

Sometimes love is meant to be. But sometimes…love is the death of you….

Seventeen-year-old Scarlet has just died. Only, dying isn’t unusual for a girl under a centuries old curse that left her semi-immortal.

This time, though, she comes back to her current life instead of awaking in a new one, and she realizes the curse is changing. Together with the immortal Archer brothers, Scarlet must piece together her life and try to break the curse before her impending death comes again.

ebook, 495 pages
Published: June 12th 2012 by Firefall Publishing (first published June 10th 2010)
edition language: English
genre: Paranormal Romance, Young Adult
series: The Archers of Avalon #2
My Thought
This time, I want to create something new for my review format. Instead of like any other reviews, I wrote it in a conversation style. Although it’s only my imagination, I had fun wrote it. Hope you like it too.
My BFF: So, how is sequel of Anew? Have you finished it?

Me: Yes, I have. It was so good. Have you read Anew?

My BFF: Why? Do I have to read it A-S-A-P?

Me: Yes, you have too, what are you waiting for? You’ve already had it.

My BFF: Why do you want me to read it A-S-A-P? Yeah, I know you gave Anew 5 stars and it was your first 5 stars for this year so it must be awesome, well….at least for you. And why you won’t stop talking about it? Who do you think you are, Oprah?

Me: What do you mean?

My BFF: Well, you know Oprah used to talk her favorite books and she asked people to read it. But she has her own book club so she has a good reason to do that while you have no reason at all.

Me: Of course I have reason The Archer of Avalon series is awesome. I don’t want you to be left behind. That’s why I keep talking about it.
My BFF: How do you know the series is awesome? You only read 2 of 3 and I don’t know whether Awry is good or not. Yeah, you said it was awesome but I need more reasons aside of awesomeness.

Me: You want more reasons? I can give you reasons. So as I said in Anew, this book still has what I love from a book. It is a paranormal romance but it also has humor, a lot of humor and a good one. I love reading about Heather and Nate, her noisy and bubbling even incoherent one, his nerdy. Love their banter. As supporting characters they really have a special place in my heart and they make the story more alive. The story itself was so good. What happen to Archer brothers and Scarlet reveal here. I especially love their past, Chelsea Fine wrote it in flashback but whenever she wrote their past it connected to their present. I mean she didn’t just write their past in one chapter then continue to their present in another chapter. She intertwines it. So I can feel the connection between their past and their present. It answer why, when and how from the story.

My BFF: Why you always have questions from the book you read? Oh speaking about question did this book answer your questions from the previous one? I know that you will piss off when you didn’t find it hehehe

Me: Why I always have questions? I guess curiosity take the best of me 😀

My BFF: curiosity kills the cat

Me: I’m not a cat

My BFF: obviously, maybe we can call you curious Rachmi from now on.

Me: So, I’m not a cat but a monkey now?

My BFF: Hey, it’s compliment, you didn’t answer my questions by the way.

Me: What questions? Oh….yeah, Awry answered one of my two main questions. It was a good answer actually and made sense to me, I still waiting for an answer for another question though.

My BFF: Hmm….I think you are weird, maybe you miss something from the book because obviously other readers didn’t bring it out.

Me: Maybe, I think I have to ask them whether I miss it or not.

My BFF: Ok, how about the main characters, are they still awesome?

Me: Of course they are still awesome and I have more Tristan here 😀

My BFF: What about Tristan, I know that he has green eyes, gorgeous face, more gorgeous body, a badass. Basically swoon worthy kind of thing, right? So what’s new about him?

Me: Well…he is indeed swoon worthy, I love reading his qualities but what I love most about him is he keeps his words. I think I rarely read male character who true to their words nowadays.

My BFF: What do you mean are you saying most male characters are liar?

Me: No, I didn’t mean that. Let me tell you this way. I read a lot about male character who thought that he is dangerous to female character, his love interest. He keep saying that she shouldn’t be near him, that he isn’t good for her and she have to stay away from him. BUT he do all of those things. He seems can’t stay away, keep near her or even sometimes kind of stalk her.

My BFF: Oh I know who you are talking about, my favorite vampire, right?

Me: Yeah and lots of male characters like him. But Tristan is different. When he said to Gabriel to kept Scarlet away from him. He indeed stays away from her. He keeps their distance and even he go away from the story for a few chapters. He is true to his words. That’s what I love the most. He doesn’t pretend doesn’t want or need Scarlet so keep pull her away but keep meet her coincidentally.

My BFF: Ok, I understand your opinion but I still love my vampire. Oh, I remember you said that you can guess what happen with the characters. Are your guess right? It sucks when I can predict the story, you know.

Me: I know I also love unpredictable story. I had 2 guesses after reading Anew, one of it was right but the other was wrong! So this book still has a surprise for me. And it still feels good because I didn’t think about it at all.

My BFF: Ok…I get it I think I have more than enough reasons to read this series. So what will you read next?

Me: Are you kidding me? Do you have to ask? Of course my next reading will be book #3, Avow.

Favorite dialogue:
“Nate called out, “Team Meeting!” and pointed a finger in the air.
When he had everyone’s attention, Nate cleared his throat. “There are a few Team Awesome things we need to discuss.”
Tristan leaned over to Gabriel. “What’s Team Awesome?”
“It’s our team name,” Heather smiled.
“We’re not a team,” Gabriel said.
“We are a team,” Nate corrected. “We’re Team Awesome and I’m team captain.” He looked at Tristan. “You can call me Captain. Or Captain America, if you’d like. I’m even willing to settle for Captain Jack.”
Tristan crossed his arms. “Yeah, that’s not going to happen.”
Heather’s eyes lit up. “Ooh! Can we choose code names? Can I be Catwoman?”
“We’re not choosing code names.” Gabriel looked incredibly annoyed and Tristan almost smiled.”
Result: 5/5 Stars
Leave a Reply

