Review: The Sweet Trilogy #1, Sweet Evil by Wendy Higgins

Sweet Evil (The Sweet Trilogy, #1)

Blurb from Goodreads

Embrace the Forbidden

What if there were teens whose lives literally depended on being bad influences?

This is the reality for sons and daughters of fallen angels.
Tenderhearted Southern girl Anna Whitt was born with the sixth sense to see and feel emotions of other people. She’s aware of a struggle within herself, an inexplicable pull toward danger, but it isn’t until she turns sixteen and meets the alluring Kaidan Rowe that she discovers her terrifying heritage and her willpower is put to the test. He’s the boy your daddy warned you about. If only someone had warned Anna.

Forced to face her destiny, will Anna embrace her halo or her horns?

Paperback, 453 pages
Published: May 1st 2012 by HarperTeen
edition language: English
genre: Paranormal Romance, Young Adult
series: The Sweet Trilogy #1
My Thoughts
There are many things that attract me to read a book, the blurb, the ratings, other reviews but never the cover. I’m not kind of person who picks a book up based on its cover, though there’s nothing wrong with it either. But it’s kind of hard to ignore those beautiful cover these days and that’s actually bring me to read Sweet Evil, and the title. I think the cover and the title are a good combination to make readers want to know more about this book. The contradiction between sweet and evil make me wonder there will be an opposite characters in this book. I love a story about opposite characters with opposite love story.

I really like the idea of this story. It brings an angel & demon story from the original one. I think this is one of the stories about angel and demon that I can relate and kind of familiar with. That and the writing make this book interesting to read.

However I have some problems, the story is so slow I almost put it down. The author spends many pages introduce her characters without anything major happen to the story. I mean this is about angel and demon, I kind of wish there will be lots of action about their battle but it’s just a glimpse to the story. I just hope it’s because this is first book and the author keeps it for the sequel.

Half of the book I’m not sure whether I liked Anna, the main character. She’s so naïve, innocent and sometimes annoying. I get that she has an angel part that make her seems naïve and innocent but I can’t relate it to her character. I think she’s way too naïve for her good. Aside her, I have trouble to picture the characters are trained and do seven deadly sins from a very young age.

But I like Anna & Kaidan relationship and the way they kind of give it up for bigger plan. It makes them more mature because they know they have more important role in their life. And that’s make me want to read the sequel.

Result: 3/5 Stars
Leave a Reply

