Review: Falling #1, Falling Into You by Jasinda Wilder

17448960Blurb from Goodreads

I wasn’t always in love with Colton Calloway; I was in love with his younger brother, Kyle, first. Kyle was my first one true love, my first in every way.
Then, one stormy August night, he died, and the person I was died with him.

Colton didn’t teach me how to live. He didn’t heal the pain. He didn’t make it okay. He taught me how to hurt, how to not be okay, and, eventually, how to let go.

ebook
Published March 14th 2013 by Jasinda Wilder
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thought
Since this book loved by readers and they have wrote a very good review, I won’t write about the writing, the story, the characters and the setting. I don’t have to explain it again but I’m going to write things that I thought as important as the story, at least important for me as a reader.

Dedication Page

I wonder what’s wrong with me and dedication page. Just 3 books ago I’m intrigued with Nyrae Dawn dedication page in Freeing Carter. Then, 3 days later Jasinda Wilder did it to me.

This book is for anyone who has ever lost a loved one, for anyone who has woken up crying and gone to bed the same way, for anyone who has had to learn that it’s okay to be not okay. Surviving isn’t strength, it’s continuing to breathe one day at a time; strength is learning to live despite the pain.

It’s really intrigued me and makes me want to know what the story is all about because I believe what she wrote in it connected to the story. Dedication page definitely will be one of things that draw my attention to read a book, aside the blurb, the authors and friends’ recommendation.

The playlist

My first encountered with The Avett Brothers was from Slammed by Colleen Hoover. And I paid more attention to The Civil Wars because of The Edge of Never by J.A Redmerski. A lot of YA/NA books have a song or two that I didn’t familiar before I read the books, but I think I never read a book with a lot of songs I love, like in this book. I’m kind of chilled whenever I read about those songs and know it and love it. Not only because half of songs in it are also in most played playlist in my iPod, but also it connected to the story and to me. Just like Nell said, those songs speak to the story and to me. And I love One Hour More, it’s so beautiful. I think Jasinda Wilder should give a melody so that it become a song that I can sing 😀
The issues

I can relate Nell & Colton’s story to real life, my life at least. I know what it feels to lost someone you love, the fear to forget them, the need to move on yet feel guilty to be able to move and the need to forgive yourself and let it free. What Jasinda Wilder wrote through Nell & Colton is true. They story is sad but it’s true. That’s why I love it.

As much as I’m falling into Falling Into You, I have a few things that quite distract me and questioned it. In the beginning of the story, I learn about Nell & Kyle relationship, I love their relationship. It’s sweet and perfect as a first love kind of relationship. Along their story, I know that Kyle’s letter is important (sort of) to Nell. So how come it never explained again after she met Colton. I mean if Nell kept it for almost 2 years I thought that it will always with her moreover she still feel guilty for his death and her relationship with Colton. I just assume it is something she can hold and true from Kyle so she will keep it for a very long time, at least until she let herself free.

Another thing is I’m wondering why Nell rarely meet Colton before Kyle funeral. I understand with his issue that (maybe) keep him from people but Nell is Kyle’s BFF since they were born and they are neighbor, I just cannot understand it. And then, both of Nell and Colton have serious issues, through Colton, I can relate and understand more about Nell’s issues but it didn’t work for Colton’s issues. I think he has bigger issues, his brother death, his relationship with his dad, being in the street and his dyslexic.

To be honest, I never thought about it so when I read it, it kind of surprised me and I liked it, I’m intrigued. I want to know more about it but it never explain more than it caused him left home and bad relationship with his dad. I kind of want to know what he’s going to do about it now when he knows what is actually happen to him.In the end I wonder whether Jasida Wilder keep this open (I really feel that the story haven’t yet finished) so there will be another story from Nell and Colton.

Result: 3 of 5 Stars
One thought on “Review: Falling #1, Falling Into You by Jasinda Wilder

  1. Pingback: Break My Heart, Why Don’t You: Tear Inducing Reads | Page by page

Leave a Reply

