Review: Off The Subject #2, Redesigned by Denise Grover Swank

17788557Blurb from Goodreads

While fashion design major Caroline Hunter may have been born economically unlucky, in college, she’s been lucky in love. Until her senior year at Southern University. She’s gone from a serious long term boyfriend to a string of crappy dates.

Then she meets mathematics grad student Reed Pendergraft.

Reed is everything she’s not looking for. Serious. Headed for a low paying university job. Boring. Caroline spent the first eighteen years of her life wondering where her next meal was coming from. She sure wasn’t getting trapped in that life again with a man living on a professor’s salary.

An encounter with Reed in a club proves she might have pegged him wrong. He brings out a lusty side she never knew she had. But just when she’s about to give in to her hormones, Reed makes a fool out of her.

When she shows up for the first committee meeting for Southern University’s Fall fashion show, a fundraiser for underprivileged kids, Caroline’s horrified to discover the insufferable Reed is the committee chairman. While she refuses to tolerate his totalitarian rule of the committee, she’s not sure she’ll survive the month with her heart—and her pride—intact. Just when she thinks she has everything figured out, she finds that her entire life has been redesigned, thanks to Reed Pendergraft.

Paperback, 294 pages
Published June 10th 2013 by Createspace (first published June 9th 2013)
edition language: English
series: Off The Subject #2
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thought
This is Denise Grover Swank second book I read. I had same excitement as my first one, After Math. As much as I liked and enjoyed After Math, I didn’t give it more than 3 stars, there were things that prevent me to say I really like it. So, when I decided to read Redesigned I didn’t expect much. Apparently it’s more than I expected. I enjoyed and loved it.
The story is simple and there isn’t something new in it. A lot of books have similar story but somehow Ms. Swank
make it works and it really works for me. I can connect with the characters. I love them all they are perfect in their imperfection. And it is surely an emotional story. I feel sorry for Caroline but I’m happy that she knows what she want and fight for it. To be honest, I mostly like when she told her childhood story, it is a sad story but the way she told touching me. I love Reed for his persistent to never let Caroline go, even when he misunderstood her, though I have to admit I kind of want to scream at him and tell him that he was wrong. I also happy to meet Scarlett and Tucker again and read a glimpse of their happily ever after story. I even love Lexi, Reed’s sister, and eager to read her own story. I’m pretty sure Off The Subject #3, Business as Usual will be her story and I kind of hope that Brandon is truly her love interest. Although Reed didn’t trust him, I want to read more about their story.
Result: 4 of 5 Stars
Leave a Reply

