Review: Rapunzel Untangled by Cindy C. Bennett

16225157Blurb from Goodreads

Rapunzel is not your average teenager.

For one thing, she has a serious illness that keeps her inside the mysterious Gothel Mansion. And for another, her hair is 15 feet long. Not to mention that she’s also the key to ultimately saving the world from certain destruction. But then she meets a boy named Fane, who changes all she has ever known, and she decides to risk everything familiar to find out who she really is.

Filled with romance, adventure, and mystery, Rapunzel Untangled is one story you won’t want to put down. Discover the true meaning of love and friendship in this modern twist to the classic fairytale.

ebook, ebook, 306 pages
Published February 12th 2013 by Cedar Fort, Inc.
edition language: English
My Thought
I didn’t grow up with fairytale stories as my bedtime story. I knew about it when I was in junior high from Disney version. And then a couple years ago my friend told me that apparently Disney versions were quite different from original one. It intrigued me, I want to know more about it yet I also interested in retelling version, just like what Disney did. I think didn’t grow up with Disney versions has advantage to me, I can see and understand the difference clearly than if I know it in my early life.

Rapunzel is one of those stories. To be honest I knew more about it after I watched animation movie (again) by Disney in 2010, it captivated me. It’s one of my favorite animation movies. And when I read that Cindy C. Bennett wrote its retelling I’m so eager to read it.

Since it is a retelling it has similar story, it even has similar scenes with Disney version. It has this scene:

then this scene
and even this one
Yet, Cindy C. Bennett wrote it from her perspective, it makes this story quite different from Disney though it has similar scenes and character name and in some part I like it better. It’s more serious, I can see that Bennett tries to explore it and make it her story. I especially like Rapunzel ‘voice’ I can connect to her, feel sorry for her and more understand her feeling and her thought. She isn’t just a girl who trapped in a tower with beautiful long hair but she also smart, curious and lonely. I also liked the way Bennett wrote it, she brought this retelling into present time with familiar things I can relate.

But, there is one thing that I’m not quite satisfied. It’s the way Rapunzel was kidnapped, it was just because she was in the wrong place at the wrong time. Although Gothel has a purpose, I feel like it is too random and too coincidence. I think I need more reason about it.

Result: 3 of 5 Stars
Leave a Reply

