Review: The Art of Wishing by Lindsay Ribar

13530566Blurb from Goodreads

He can grant her wishes, but only she can save his life.

Margo McKenna has a plan for just about everything, from landing the lead in her high school play to getting into a good college. So when she finds herself in possession of a genie’s ring and the chance to make three wishes, she doesn’t know what to do. Why should she put her life into someone else’s hands?

But Oliver is more than just a genie — he’s also a sophomore at Margo’s high school, and he’s on the run from a murderer. As he and Margo grow closer, she discovers that it will take more than three wishes to save him.

A whole lot more.

ebook, 320 pages
Published March 21st 2013 by Dial Books
edition language: English
series: The Art of Wishing
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
My Thought
Be careful of what you wish for, that was what I learnt after spending my childhood reading Goosebumps series by R.L Stine. Having a genie whose can make my wish come true sounds great, awesome and powerful. If there is such a thing like genie, I bet everyone would love to have their own genie. But, as I learnt from Goosebumps and I dream of Genie TV series wishes never as simple as what we thought first. That’s what Margo learnt after she has her own genie, Oliver Parish. She is a straight-A student, talented musician who wish can write her own songs.

I never read a story about genie, maybe it’s because I never heard a book about it before. This book intrigued me since the first time I laid my eyes in its blurb. First part of the story, a little bit slow-paced. It’s where the characters and the story were introduced. In this case I didn’t mind at all. I think it needed so readers can see the characters changes throughout the story, especially Margo and her not-so-friend, Vicky. I love reading about Margo, she’s a little bit drama queen but in an interesting way, she’s also normal, as normal as 17 years old teenage girl. I found it refreshing after reading books about teenage girls who didn’t act like a teenager. I really enjoyed reading her ‘mind’.

I also love the way Lindsay Ribar created the story. Oliver Parish is a genie. A genie just like I know from Aladdin but he’s also has a life. The story of his life is acceptable for me. I mean I can understand it and in a paranormal kind of books, it makes sense to me. It didn’t left loopholes so that make me ask questions about it.

All in all, I enjoyed and loved reading it. It can be a good standalone book but as I read in author’s acknowledgements there will be sequels, I don’t mind reading another Margo & Oliver’s story

Result: 3.5 of 5 Stars
Leave a Reply

