Review: Find You in the Dark by A. Meredith Walters

16081754Blurb from Goodreads

Maggie Young had the market on normal. Normal friends, normal parents, normal grades…normal life.

Until him.

Clayton Reed was running from his past and an army of personal demons that threatened to take him down. He never thought he had a chance at happiness.

Until her.

Maggie thought their love could overcome anything. Clay thought she was all he needed to fix his messy life.

That together, they could face the world.

But the darkness is always waiting.

Sometimes the greatest obstacle to true love is within yourself

Kindle Edition, 290 pages
Published October 10th 2012 by Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
edition language: English
series: Find You in the Dark #1
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
There is a part of me that didn’t quite like this book. I like how Maggie is straight forward, witty, bold and know what she wants but then after she met Clay she’s kind of insecure girl. She kept thinking that she’s not worth enough for Clay and her jealousy a little bit irritated me. Her behavior contradicted for me. I also have to admit that I have to try really hard to understand her. This story told from her POV, reading her contradiction behavior, her feeling for Clay and most importantly their relationship quite exhausted me.I think they have an unhealthy relationship. What she has with Clay is a dangerous relationship, he never hurt her physically but it still count that Clay abuse her mentally, though he never meant it and mostly didn’t realize it. The pattern of their relationship makes me want to scream at her to get professional help for Clay or at least tell Ruby or Lisa or even her parents what really happen to him.

Then, the other parts of me try to picture myself as Maggie. What will I do if someone I love has the illness, how do I feel about it? Maggie is a teenager who doesn’t know about her boyfriend’s illness and she is in love with her boyfriend. She tried very hard, in the name of love, to help him the way she knows. They said love is blind, Maggie’s love blinding her judgment for Clay’s condition. And whether she realized it or not it didn’t make Clay better. After my second thought, I cannot blame Maggie either for being a naive 17 years old. I, as adult, didn’t even know that Clay mental illness can attack at early age. Before I read this book, I used to think that it mostly happen to adult. I don’t realize how serious it is since I never witness it firsthand. At this point I think I finally can understand and feel Maggie voice.Although I kind of exhausted after read this book because the story is quite painful for me, I think Walters did a good job playing readers emotion through Clay and Maggie’s story. I can feel it, she describe the emotion well.

I don’t know if other readers realize but I found a tiny inconsistency in Daniel’s friend’s name “Hey, Daniel! Maggie! Want a Long Island Ice Tea?” Jake Fitzpatrick asked, pushing a full cup in our direction. then his name change into I felt the bench beside me dip as someone sat down beside me. I looked over to see Jake Fitzsimmons grinning as he snuck a piece of my brownie off of my plate. and then back to “I was talking to Jake Fitzpatrick the other day and he was asking about you.”

Despite the inconsistency, typos and other technical errors I liked the way Walters wrote it. There is words/sentences/phrase that told over and over but she brought her story with honesty. Her description when Clay’s mood swings and his depression are poignant and vivid. I get a better look about his illness. And for that I thank her. Because if she didn’t write it clearly I’m sure I don’t understand what she said through this book since Clay illness is a rarely subject I read.

Result: 4 out of 5 stars
One thought on “Review: Find You in the Dark by A. Meredith Walters

  1. Pingback: Review: Reclaiming the Sand by A. Meredith Walters | notalostwanderer

Leave a Reply

