Review: Slammed #3, This Girl by Colleen Hoover

17558077Blurb from Goodreads

There are two sides to every love story. Now hear Will’s.

Layken and Will’s love has managed to withstand the toughest of circumstances and the young lovers, now married, are beginning to feel safe and secure in their union. As much as Layken relishes their new life together, she finds herself wanting to know everything there is to know about her husband, even though Will makes it clear he prefers to keep the painful memories of the past where they belong. Still, he can’t resist his wife’s pleas and so he begins to untangle his side of the story, revealing for the first time his most intimate feelings and thoughts, retelling both the good and bad moments, and sharing a few shocking confessions of his own from the time when they first met.

In This Girl, Will tells the story of their complicated relationship from his point of view. Their future rests on how well they deal with the past in this final installment of the beloved Slammed series.

ebook, 304 pages
Published April 30th 2013 by Atria Books
edition language: English
series: Slammed
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
Because of Goodreads, I incidentally read Slammed from an indie author. It was her debut, readers who read it weren’t as much as now I think it was less than 100 readers. Yet I learn so much from it. I never know there is a thing like Slammed Poetry, I never know there is a very good band called The Avett Brothers and I learnt that poem doesn’t have to be serious with difficult words to understand and I begin to love poetry again. A thing I like but kind of ignore it for almost 15 years. Since then I’ve skimmed Slammed a couple times.

This time in This Girl is Will Cooper’s time for his story. It’s the same story as Slammed that I read over a year ago except it is Will thought that I read and through his eyes I see things that he sees. As an alternative POV, I usually have a feeling that I read the same story and sometime kind of repetitive but in this book, I feel like I read a new story. I see and read the same scenes as in Slammed but it is way different perspective I almost forget that it’s the same story. Will isn’t just tell Slammed from his POV but also tell his story to me. The story that even Lake didn’t know. That makes this book become a whole new book.

Just like Slammed, I have many favorites from this book. It’s kind of weird since it’s a retelling of Slammed but I can’t help to think that this is also quite different from Slammed. Here they are:
Favorite quote: I don’t know how one minute, a person can think his life is nothing more than a barren valley with nothing left to look forward to. Then, in the blink of an eye, someone can come along and change it with a simple smile.

Favorite poem: The Gift in chapter 18

Favorite funny moment: “You aren’t gonna like her. She burps a lot. And she’s bossy. And she never lets me drink coffee, so she probably won’t let you have any either. And she has really bad taste in music and sings way too loud and leaves her bras all over the house. It’s gross.”
Favorite sweet moment: I wrap my arm around her waist and pull her on top of me. When she leans in to kiss me, her hair falls between us. I reach to the nightstand and grab her rubber band, then twist her hair into a knot behind her head and secure it. “There,” I say, pulling her face back to mine. “Better.”

Favorite heartbreaking moment: Julia’s letter to Will in epilogue

Favorite conversation which didn’t exist in Slammed: “WHAT IF SHE loses weight?” Kel says. “She doesn’t need to lose weight,” I say as I scoop a spoonful of eggs onto his plate. I walk back to the stove and set the pan down. “Well, if you don’t think she’s fat and you like to kiss her, then why don’t you want her to be your girlfriend?” I spin around and face both of the boys. “I like kissing her?” I ask, afraid of his answer. He just nods and takes a bite of his food. “You kissed her that night you took her on that test date. Lake says you didn’t kiss her, but I saw you. She says you can get in a lot of trouble for kissing her and that I didn’t see what I thought I saw.” “She said that?” I ask. Caulder nods. “That’s what she told us. But Kel says he saw what he thought he saw and I believe him. Why would you get in trouble for kissing her, anyway?”

pictures courtesy of http://bizzie-lizzie.tumblr.com
Result: 4 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

