Review: A Whitman University #1, Broken at Love by Lyla Payne

17280224Blurb from Goodreads

When a knee injury ends twenty-year-old Quinn Rowland’s pro tennis career, he’s not only dumped by his hot Russian girlfriend but ordered to attend college by his disinterested billionaire father. A rich kid who’s not used to being disappointed by life, Quinn and his sociopathic half-brother Sebastian create a frat house game intended to treat girls how they see them—as simple game pieces to be manipulated for their pleasure.

College sophomore Emilie Swanson knows Quinn’s reputation—after all, he did send one of her sorority sisters into therapy earlier in the semester—but the game and his charm bring them closer together and soon she starts to believe there’s more to Quinn than people think.

But what if the more is something darker than a game of toying with emotions and breaking hearts?

Quinn and Emilie might be falling for each other, but there are secrets he’s not ready to tell—and lifestyle changes he’s reluctant to make. She willingly stepped on the court, but if Emilie finds out she started out as nothing as a pawn in Quinn and Sebastian’s twisted game, she might never forgive him.

To his surprise, Quinn finds that he might finally care about someone more than he cares about himself…even if that means letting Emilie walk away for good.

ebook
Published March 8th 2013 by CreateSpace
edition language: English
series: A Whitman University
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
Things I liked:

1. First person multiple POV. I always like first person POV in romance books. I think I can understand and feel the story better from character’s voice. Although my perspective will be limited because I only have one mind to read, it’s the best way to connect to the characters. And even better if the story has multiple POV based on its main characters. Just like this book. Both Quinn and Emilie tell their story about falling in love, make mistakes, regret and forgiveness.

2. Background story. Quinn is a tennis player who has to retire early due to his injury. I’m not familiar with tennis, but I like the way the author use tennis major competition as time settings. I think it quite original and interesting. And so does the title, apparently it comes from tennis term which is suitable for the story.

Things I disliked:

1. Insta-love. I’m not a fan of insta-love but I can make an exception while I read. In this story, I didn’t find a reason for my exception. Quinn & Emilie’s relationship begin with a game. Then after a week they’ve already fallen in love while I see it as a lust or infatuation or any kind of feeling except love.

2. Emilie’s reaction *SPOILER* when she knows that she is part of Quinn’s game. I thought it will be a climax of the story but Emilie’s reaction is not enough for a climax to me. Even if it isn’t a climax I didn’t find anything else after that to be something I look for from the story *End of SPOILER*

3. Quinn & Emilie’s relationship. After a week spent time together (meaning: talking between kissing and having sex) they realize that they are falling in love. But Quinn thinks that he doesn’t deserve Emilie. Then, he begins to pull and extend their love. Reading their relationship is like trying to fly a kite. Have you ever fly a kite? There is a special trick to make a kite flies better. You should pull and extend it, based on the wind until it flies perfectly. I feel Quinn only pull and extend Emilie and their love, until it comes to certain chapter and/or page to make decisions about it. And along the way he tries I’m tired and bored.
Result: 2 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

