Review: Kindrily #2, Taking Back Forever by Karen Amanda Hooper

14062069Blurb from Goodreads

Forever is worth the fight.

Maryah erased all memory of her past lives, but she couldn’t erase her soul mate Nathan, or his undying love. Now, Maryah and Nathan have a second chance at a future together, but first Maryah must remember the person she used to be and embrace her supernatural gifts—more than one kindrily member’s life depends on it.

Maryah’s power is Harmony’s best hope of finding her kidnapped soul mate, Gregory. But Harmony isn’t big on asking anyone for help, and she’s tired of waiting, so she’s taking matters into her own hands. Heaven help anyone who stands in her way.

Kindle Edition, 366 pages
Published May 29th 2013 by Starry Sky Publishing
edition language: English
series: Kindrily
genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
There are two opposite things I felt after reading this book.  First, I can feel and see Nathan and Maryah are soulmate. His love for her is unlimited, sweet and full of passion all at the same time. In some part I’m quite frustrated with his determination to take slow their relationship. He wants Maryah to know him first, take it slowly and the way he keeps saying that they better wait until they marry and it will be worth it remind me of Edward Cullen. In this part I can see that he has live long enough with so much control than the new Maryah. Yet, I can feel their sexual tension. They are soulmate who has live many lives with the same passion as they use to have.
The other thing is this story is slower than the prequel, make me quite bored. More than half of the story keeps me wondering whether or not there will be something happen and if it really happen when will it be. I think this book is about finding a way to regain Maryah’s power and bring back Gregory to the Kindrily. As much as I understand how hard to regain Maryah’s power, I think she doesn’t try enough. First, she is trained by Faith but she doesn’t take it seriously then Nathan trains her but most of it I see it as a make out session for them, to build their sexual tension. It doesn’t mean I’m complaining but I want something more from Maryah. I want to see Mary the kickass, as her friends always tell her. Although she doesn’t remember her life before and doesn’t realize how powerful she was, I kind of hope that she is more determine to bring it back and do something about it. In this part, they disappointed me.
Just like its prequel, this book also written in two different POV but instead of Maryah and Nathan this time Harmony who accompany Maryah speak to me. And the way Karen Amanda Hooper wrote is more than good. I can see how different Maryah and Harmony are. Maryah is powerless and clueless while Harmony is tough and fearless. Although she tends to act first then think, I begin to love her more than other characters. As for the other characters, they have more stories here. I love Krista and Carson, love Dakota, and even love Sheila.

Because of Maryah’s choice, she cannot remember her past. Hence, I rely on other Kindrilies to tell it. What really happen to her in her first life time together with the Kindrily surprised me. It really intertwines their life forever with their enemy, Dedrick. Although it makes me have hate/love feeling to Maryah, I love it that way, I think it is a reasonable reason for Dedrick and the Kindrily.

As a sequel, there are only a little bit clues to answer the big question, why did Mary choose to erase. But that little bit clue is effective, make me wondering so many scenarios of Maryah’s reasons. It makes me eager to read next book, Fighting for Infinity. But whatever her reason I hope it is a very good and important reason to do what she chose. I have questions after read this book that I hope I can get the answer in next sequel.

Note: To honor Sheila’s life I have songs I think suitable for her last life. It called Death is the Road to Awe and Xibalba, both are by Clint Mansell from The Fountain music score. Here are the link to YouTube:
Result: 3.5 stars out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

