Review: Come As You Are by Theresa Weir

18464111Blurb from Goodreads

New Adult Romance by RITA winner and New York Times author Theresa Weir

Coming October 1, 2013

Molly Young has a secret. To keep it she holds the world at a distance. Behind her lies a trail of dumped boyfriends who came too close to discovering what no one can know. When her estranged father dies of an unexpected heart attack he leaves an even deeper secret, one tied to Molly’s.

At the funeral repast Molly is unable to tolerate the shoulder-to-shoulder mourners and runs out the door and down the street to the nearest bar. Come dawn, with no memory of the past ten hours, she finds herself in bed with a beautiful stranger. She slips away before he wakes up, unaware of the role he’s about to play in her life. Is he the one guy who can convince Molly to face her painful secret and become the person she’s meant to be?

ebook, 200 pages
Expected publication: October 1st 2013 by Belfry Press
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts

Meet Molly Young, a restless young woman who has to face strangers after her father’s funeral. She run away, literally, to calm her down then meet a man, Ian, who takes a journey to meet his father whom he never meet.

As the blurb said, this is a new adult book. I’ve read many NA books, some I love, some other I didn’t like since most of them kind of formulaic. In this book, although I can see it is like any other NA, I already liked Molly and Ian from the moment they met. They have an awkward encountered but I find it interesting and quite funny. I can feel Molly’s anxiety and her feeling to numb herself. On the other hand, I didn’t quite believe of how kind and thoughtful Ian is. It’s like he is too good to be true for a man in his position in the night he met Molly, though later I can see that he is indeed a good man.

It is one quick reading with fast-paced and is written from 2 perspectives. While I like Molly’s POV, she’s so blunt and straight forward yet I can still feel her vulnerability, I’m kind of hope reading from Ian’s POV. His part is written from third person POV from his perspective. Don’t get me wrong, I can feel and understand him alright but I’m curious of how his voice will be.

One thing that I’m not quite like from this book is how short it is hence, everything in it feels too fast and in a rush. I mean since it fast-paced I feel Molly’s past and her feeling seem didn’t describe deep enough. And they have an insta-serious-relationship which I’m kind of hard to believe it. On the other hand, I like it has surprise that I didn’t see it at all, though I also feel I’m not quite satisfied with the ending and the way <spoiler>Molly resign her college just like that< end of spoiler>. Maybe it’s because I want to feel more from Molly and Ian or it’s because I’m not ready yet to finish reading their story. In the end, I (once again) feel there’s something else that needed to be answered and to be described but the story stop abruptly.

Thanks to Theresa Weir, Belfry Press and NetGalley for allowing me to read it.

Result: 2.5 stars out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

