Review: A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest

17255435Blurb from Goodreads

On the evening of Sofia Claremont’s seventeenth birthday, she is sucked into a nightmare from which she cannot wake.

A quiet evening walk along a beach brings her face to face with a dangerous pale creature that craves much more than her blood.

She is kidnapped to an island where the sun is eternally forbidden to shine.
An island uncharted by any map and ruled by the most powerful vampire coven on the planet. She wakes here as a slave, a captive in chains.

Sofia’s life takes a thrilling and terrifying turn when she is the one selected out of hundreds of girls to join the harem of Derek Novak, the dark royal Prince.

Despite his addiction to power and obsessive thirst for her blood, Sofia soon realizes that the safest place on the island is within his quarters, and she must do all within her power to win him over if she is to survive even one more night.

Will she succeed? …or is she destined to the same fate that all other girls have met at the hands of the Novaks?

ebook, 89 pages
Published (first published December 14th 2012)
edition language: English
series: A Shade of Vampire
genre: Paranormal, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
So, I decided to give this vampire story a try after my friend recommended it to me. After the sparkling vampire, I think I haven’t read vampire story again. I read it here and there in books I read, but never about vampire completely. The closest vampire I got is when I read The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare. When I saw there is A Shade of Vampire giveaway on Goodreads, I thought it won’t give me harm if I read it by winning the giveaway since it’s free! And if I didn’t win, I don’t have to read it. It’s a win-win solution for me. Then, Bella Forrest told me that she would like to give a copy of it. I was kind of think that I really can’t miss it because I rarely win Goodreads giveaway.

Now, I’m glad in many ways this book made me read it. Actually, I didn’t expect much about it. I tried to read it like I never read vampire stories but my mind keep remember one particular vampire I didn’t quite like.

This is a story about Derek Novak’s vampire realm. He and his family is the most powerful coven but they have to stay hidden because there are hunters who keep hunt them. In order to live their life, they need human so they captive them. Sofia Claremont is one of girls who abducted to become a harem of the vampire leader, or Elite as they called. She then assigned in Derek’s ownership.

I was intrigued by the prolog and chapter one of the book. It made me even drawn to read when I found about Lucas, Derek’s brother, who I first thought is Derek. Derek, as the main character didn’t introduce from the beginning of the story, instead he take a step to the story in the middle of the book after most of the important characters are introduced.

When I read him, I thought here come another reluctant vampire and he is a reluctant leader too. As the story goes, it reminds me of another vampire stories, there are scenes that quite similar to the other vampires books. Surprisingly, Bella Forrest wrote it in her own way and it works for me. I love how vulnerable yet stubborn Sofia is. Her thoughts and acts to Derek and her surrounding are quite reasonable for me. Hence, I believe her. Derek, a walking contradiction as Sofia says, also believable to me. He treats Sofia kindly but still has a predator trait on her as well as a menacing leader to his people and when he shows his true nature, it indeed a menacing-dangerous trait to everyone. Aside the characters I also love the way Bella Forrest created its worldbuilding and setting.

Although there are things left me questioning the story, it made me want to read its sequel now, to know the answers and to read more about Sofia and Derek.

Result: 3.5 stars of 5 stars
2 thoughts on “Review: A Shade of Vampire by Bella Forrest

  1. I was the same, I entered the competition and did not win, was kinda glad because I was worried it would be a cross between twilight and 50 shades of grey, which scared me terribly. She offered me a copy and I did not want to be rude so I said yes. It was good I enjoyed it, different in setting than other vampire books that I read. I still have not gotten around to reading the second one but I will soon πŸ™‚

  2. I’m glad I gave this book a try πŸ™‚ I’ve read all of the sequels and loved all of them. It’s getting better each sequel. If you enjoyed it, I think you will enjoy the sequels too. Now, I’m counting down for book #5 πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

