Review: Black City by Elizabeth Richards

12568505Blurb from Goodreads

A dark and tender post-apocalyptic love story set in the aftermath of a bloody war

In a city where humans and Darklings are now separated by a high wall and tensions between the two races still simmer after a terrible war, sixteen-year-olds Ash Fisher, a half-blood Darkling, and Natalie Buchanan, a human and the daughter of the Emissary, meet and do the unthinkable—they fall in love. Bonded by a mysterious connection that causes Ash’s long-dormant heart to beat, Ash and Natalie first deny and then struggle to fight their forbidden feelings for each other, knowing if they’re caught, they’ll be executed—but their feelings are too strong.

When Ash and Natalie then find themselves at the center of a deadly conspiracy that threatens to pull the humans and Darklings back into war, they must make hard choices that could result in both their deaths.

ebook, 384 pages
Published November 13th 2012 by Penguin Group (USA)
edition language: English
series: Black City
genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
Okay, this book reminds me of other popular books. Warm Bodies by Isaac Marion, The Twilight Saga by Stephenie Meyer, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and even have one particular similar scene to Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. It’s like a mash-up of those books and then voila it become Black City. But in strange way, it kind of worked for me.
My first impression to this story is I have to struggle to memorize the names. In only 3 chapters from 2 different POV, I get a lot of names about places and type of Darklings (aka vampire which I think mix with werewolf). Hence, I have to highlight it and go back to previous pages to understand what the characters speak. After I get used to it, I can connect to the story. I like the world-building I think Elizabeth Richards described it well. As the story goes, I also like the political things in it. It makes the story interesting and in some part brings surprises to me.

But, I have problems to believe few things along the story, it kind of unrealistic, in some level. 1) As a daughter of an important person in Black City, Natalie seems too easy to go anywhere. She has a bodyguard but she still can wandering alone. 2) Natalie and Ash grow up thinking that a relationship between human and darkling is forbidden. As much as I love star-crossed love story, Natalie and Ash relationship is too fast. In the beginning they sort of hate each other but then next thing I read is they fall in love and keep thinking that it will be last forever. Usually, I can make an exception to an insta-love but here I don’t think I like it. It’s just come too soon and I can’t see it’s possible for them. 3) Similar to #1, Natalie’s house seems lack of security. Someone can easily go to her balcony AND they don’t have CCTV camera, at least there aren’t any mention about it in the laboratory.
And 4) I can’t believe (as in what are they thinking?) Ash & Natalie choose the cemetery for their meeting point, the same place Tracker has. Okay, I can assumed they don’t know about it but then Natalie saw Sebastian and she remember that they indeed have a meeting there. When she meets Ash why they aren’t move to another place? They just keep talking and spill each other secrets. It’s like waiting for Trackers to caught them.

Despite those unbelievable things, I’m willing to read its sequel, Phoenix.  As Ash said the war just begun and I want to know what will happen next to Black City and be part of it.

Result: 3 of 5 stars
4 thoughts on “Review: Black City by Elizabeth Richards

  1. I just bought this book last week, someone had a review of the third one and loved it. Looking forward to reading, I do not mind similar scenes etc as long as it’s not too popular.

    • Wow, someone who had read book #3, Wings, is really a lucky reader. I’ve read book #2, Phoenix, it’s better than Black City. There are so much action and twists. And I can’t wait for Wings next year.

      I don’t mind either as long as it creates into something new. And I think it’s quite hard to find story without influence any other books these days.

      • It might have been the second one, sorry, got confused between books. Ye I agree, there’s so many stories out there they are always going to resemble other books in some ways even if it is not intentional.

Leave a Reply

