Review: Goddess Test #3, The Goddess Inheritance by Aimee Carter

10838776Blurb from Goodreads

During nine months of captivity, Kate Winters has survived a jealous goddess, a vengeful Titan and a pregnancy she never asked for. Now the Queen of the Gods wants her unborn child, and Kate can’t stop her–until Cronus offers a deal.

In exchange for her loyalty and devotion, the King of the Titans will spare humanity and let Kate keep her child. Yet even if Kate agrees, he’ll destroy Henry, her mother and the rest of the council. And if she refuses, Cronus will tear the world apart until every last god and mortal is dead.

With the fate of everyone she loves resting on her shoulders, Kate must do the impossible: find a way to defeat the most powerful being in existence, even if it costs her everything.

Even if it costs her eternity.

ebook, 229 pages
Published March 1st 2013 by Harlequin Teen (first published January 1st 2013)
edition language: English
series: Goddess Test
genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
This is the final book of Goddess Test series. I read its prequel a year ago, it didn’t impress me and I forgot about the story but won’t spend more time to reread it to remind me. I read this book only because of my promise to finish book I read, even when I didn’t like it. So, I struggle to remember who is who and what they role are.

My struggling didn’t stop on remembering the story. The plot is also unbelievable to me. It was going back and forth about how Kate will save her love ones and who will be the winner in the family business battles. Team Cronos or team Walter. I’m sure reader knows who will win eventually. The good will always stand still even when they have to sacrifice so many things. Hence, I’m waiting for their ways or tactics to win the battle. And set my hope high for the great battle. After all it’s a battle between the king of Titan with the queen of gods as his ally against the king of gods with other gods and goddess in his side. Of course I want nothing more than a great battle. But, I didn’t get it at all. At first I thought it’s because it told from Kate’s POV and she rarely joined the battles so I didn’t get the image but when she finally joined the last battle, the supposed to be an epic battle become an epic fail to me. It’s mostly telling than showing. I spent my time reading the characters’ dialogue they are talking things with less action. No action, talk only.

Another thing I struggled is it was hard reading through Kate’s POV, she’s one annoying character. One minute she said want to do something, minutes later she doubt it and change her mind. She keeps talking the same things over and over and talks and thinks obvious things. It becomes unbelievable, as in I can’t believe she say it. She always reasoning everything she did, whether it’s good or bad. There are too many if in her head. I think aside being a martyr complex she likes to be a drama queen also.

I’d leapt without thinking once again. This time it had cost me my family.

Yes, Kate you seem often act, think and speak without thinking, hence doing unbelievable things. I cannot believe you fell in the same holes many times. What were you thinking when:

1) Gives promises to gods and goddess. They are powerful, so that we have to be careful when we speak to them, especially when we give our promises, right? As much as I understand your reason, I think you didn’t think that you have to be careful to give your words to gods and goddess. I cannot believe you’re so easily gave promises or say “I do whatever you want” first to Cronos, to Calliope and to Rhea and Ava and who knows who else.

“I knew something was off. He kept saying strange things, he wouldn’t kiss me, and the way he could hold Milo when I couldn’t touch him…” I shook my head. “I should have known.”

2) It so obvious who is actually in the nursery room with Milo while Henry is dying but how come you didn’t realize who is he? I wonder whether you are naive or silly.

“We could stay down here while the others fight. They won’t miss you. And we can come up with another way to help them.”

Really, Kate? Didn’t you eager to show other gods and goddess that you are capable to go to war with them a couple chapters ago? You even argued with Henry because he didn’t want you to go. But 3) when Walter allow you to join their war without say anything else, you whine and demand that at least he ever show you that he cares for you. Something you already known that it is how Walter is.

I stared after him. That was it? After everything that had happened, that was all he was willing to give me? No offer to teach me himself—not that I expected one, and I would’ve turned it down anyway, but still. No attempt to insist I stay safe. Just permission to go out and die if that was what I wanted.

Despite of Kate, I also find other characters doing unbelievable things. 1) Calliope supposed to be a bitch badass villain but she seems cannot act like she supposed to be, the evil villain. 2) Cronos is the strongest of all gods and goddess I cannot believe how easily Kate trick him. It’s too easy for the most powerful and fearful titan who can rule all of gods and goddess easily.

“Think, Kate. Just stop and think. You’re the girl who trekked across half the Underworld to reach me on the off chance I might know where to find Cronus, and you’re giving up right now? I don’t think so.”

Everyone believes in you, Kate. Despite your constant mistakes, they still think that you are smart, strong and capable to do anything. But, sorry I couldn’t believe you. You never learn from your mistakes and made yourself hit the same wall many times. After so many times, it wasn’t a naivety anymore, you know. It’s just stupidity.

I’m relieved this series finally over and glad I survived with a headache and many rolled eyes throughout the story. If this is a test for me to gain immortality in Kate’s world, I don’t mind if I fail, don’t think I can bare the headache for eternity.

Result: 1 of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

