Review: In the Company of Killers #1, Killing Sarai by J.A. Redmerski

18052619Blurb from Goodreads

Sarai was only fourteen when her mother uprooted her to live in Mexico with a notorious drug lord. Over time she forgot what it was like to live a normal life, but she never let go of her hope to escape the compound where she has been held for the past nine years.

Victor is a cold-blooded assassin who, like Sarai, has known only death and violence since he was a young boy. When Victor arrives at the compound to collect details and payment for a hit, Sarai sees him as her only opportunity for escape. But things don’t go as planned and instead of finding transport back to Tucson, she finds herself free from one dangerous man and caught in the clutches of another.

While on the run, Victor strays from his primal nature as he succumbs to his conscience and resolves to help Sarai. As they grow closer, he finds himself willing to risk everything to keep her alive; even his relationship with his devoted brother and liaison, Niklas, who now like everyone else wants Sarai dead.

As Victor and Sarai slowly build a trust, the differences between them seem to lessen, and an unlikely attraction intensifies. But Victor’s brutal skills and experience may not be enough in the end to save her, as the power she unknowingly holds over him may ultimately be what gets her killed.

This is their story…

Kindle Edition, 1st Edition, 393 pages
Published June 19th 2013 (first published June 18th 2013)
edition language: English
series: In the Company of Killers
genre: Suspense, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
My first impression to this book was there will be so much action in it. In some point it reminds me of one of my favorite TV series, Alias. Victor is a male version of Sydney Bristow. Therefore I set my hope high for this book. And after 4 awesome 4 stars worthy books I read, I guess no wonder I’m more than eager to read this book.

So, I began this book with the highest hope I have. I did like and enjoyed first part of the book. I get everything I wish from a good action story. And the most important thing is I can feel and connected with Sarai. She made me keep reading her story, though there is one thing I didn’t quite believe in the beginning of the story. As a well-trained assassin, I can’t believe how easily Victor told Sarai his real name only after a couple hours they met. Even if it isn’t his real name, I still think he is too kind to Sarai. It lead me to a theory that he isn’t a bad BAD guy after all, that somehow he is an undercover agent, like Sydney Bristow, maybe? Apparently I was wrong, at least until the end of this book he still is a very BAD guy. An assassin who works for the organization called The Order. He gets order to kill without questioning why his target should be killed which lead him encountered with Sarai.

She ran away from Javier, a powerful drug cartel and has main business in women trafficking, who captive her for 9 years. As the story goes, I especially liked when Victor and Javier back and forth use Sarai as leverage. I surely know Victor won’t kill her but eager to know how he will save her. Moreover Javier paid him to kill Sarai because she knows too much. And when *SPOILER* she killed Javier*END OF SPOILER* I’m waiting for what will happen to her since Javier organization and his clients are still running. But then there is nothing happen to her. It made me questioning whether Javier’s clients knew about Sarai and feel threaten and how about his organization? Did Victor exaggerate Javier’s motif to kill Sarai? It seems reasonable to me but why there is nothing more after *SPOILER* Javier’s death *END OF SPOILER*. I feel it just left unfinished in order to make a new story, which lead to second part of the story.

In this part, I have to say I kinda lost interest. It still has actions but somehow I couldn’t connect to Sarai and Victor anymore, even when Victor has part to tell his POV. I feel the story that built in the beginning is only a background for Sarai’s story because there isn’t anything more about drug and women trafficking that I thought will be the main world building for Victor and Sarai. And I feel the new story is too rush and too sudden, if it’s possible. 

As my fifth books from J.A. Redmerski, I think she can write any kind of genres now. My first encountered was The Edge of Never, a new adult contemporary romance. Then, I read 3 books from The Darkwood Trilogy, a young adult paranormal romance. Now, it’s time for action packed new adult story.

Those books have different genre yet I enjoyed all of them. It made me think it doesn’t matter what story she wants to write. She will write it as good as her other books, though it completely different from the one she already had.

In the end, although I enjoyed and liked Killing Sarai and I think it is a good book, it didn’t wow me. But, will I read its sequel, Reviving Izabel? of course I’ll read it, I think I will read anything she write, but I also think that sometimes there is a book that just isn’t as I expected and somehow it caused me a minority here.
Result: 3 of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

