Review: The Lynburn Legacy #1, Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan

10866624Blurb from Goodreads

A modern, magical twist on the Gothic Romance and Girl Detective genres, this book will appeal to fans of both Beautiful Creatures and the Mortal Instruments series. Reviewers have praised the take-charge heroine and the spellbinding romance.

Bound together. Worlds apart.

Kami Glass is in love with someone she’s never met—a boy she’s talked to in her head since she was born. This has made her an outsider in the sleepy English town of Sorry-in-the-Vale, but she has learned ways to turn that to her advantage. Her life seems to be in order, until disturbing events begin to occur. There has been screaming in the woods and the manor overlooking the town has lit up for the first time in 10 years. . . . The Lynburn family, who ruled the town a generation ago and who all left without warning, have returned. Now Kami can see that the town she has known and loved all her life is hiding a multitude of secrets—and a murderer. The key to it all just might be the boy in her head. The boy she thought was imaginary is real, and definitely and deliciously dangerous.

ebook, 384 pages
Published September 11th 2012 by Random House Books for Young Readers
edition language: English
series: The Lynburn Legacy
genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
This is my second encountered with Sarah Rees Brennan after The Demon’s Lexicon. I didn’t quite enjoy it but want to give it a try to her other books. Unspoken has an interesting premise. I’m intrigued with the blurb and want to know what happen with the main character, Kami Glass who has an imaginary friend which reminds me of myself when I was a child. For me, this book is way better than The Demon’s Lexicon, at least I enjoy most of the time reading it.

There are a lot of things I love from this book. Although most of the characters are weird and crazy, I love them all, especially Kami. She’s my favorite from this book. She’s smart, independent, funny, and also has dry wit. Her dialogue with other characters made me laugh out loud. I think it’s amazing how the author create it. She made their dialogue interesting without me being realize that I read it, most of the time I feel like I watch them and be part of them. I also love how Kami & Jared didn’t fall in love instantly. In fact, they are kind of freak out and hate each other when realize that they actually already know from a long time and become companion to each other since childhood. They give time to their old-new relationship.

The setting is also incredible. I cannot help to not fall in love with Sorry-in-the-Vale and Aurimere house. It’s beautifully written in the mysterious-small town-kind of way.

But, I also have to admit it’s quite difficult for me to read this book. First, I’m quite distracted with the way it addressed Kami, by mentioning her name too many times for my taste, instead of change it into ‘she’. In some part it repeated in the beginning of each paragraph in the same scene or mentioned more than one times in the same paragraph. So, I read a lot of Kami, Kami said, Kami think, Kami doing something and more Kami.

Secondly, it’s quite hard to follow Kami’s POV. The way she acts and thinks always leap from one place to another, from one subject to another. She seems couldn’t stay and stick to one thing and focus on it. In some part I also couldn’t believe in the way she act, she is fearless, too fearless made me think whether she is really have a gut or just careless.

And then, I felt the time setting blurred sometimes. In one scene it’s night but when Kami or other characters do something different it’s already morning while at the same time I never realize that it’s already change into the next day. All of these difficulties made me have to pay more attention to words, sentences and paragraphs and even have to reread a few times to understand it.
Despite of it, I think this book is different from other YA paranormal stories. It’s like a refreshing story to me with interesting characters therefore I like and enjoy it and I think I will read its sequel, Untold.

Result: 3 of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

