Review: Beastly by Alex Flinn

6956621Blurb from Goodreads

Love is never ugly

Now a major motion picture starring Vanessa Hudgens and Alex Pettyfer

I am a beast. A beast! Not quite wolf or bear, gorilla or dog but a horrible new creature who walks upright. I am a monster.

You think I’m talking fairy tales? No way. The place is New York City. The time is now. It’s no deformity, no disease. And I’ll stay this way forever — ruined — unless I can break the spell.

Yes, the spell, the one the witch in my English class cast on me. Why did she turn me into a beast who hides by day and prowls by night? I’ll tell you. I’ll tell you how I used to be Kyle Kingsbury, the guy you wished you were, with money, perfect looks, and the perfect life. And then, I’ll tell you how I became perfectly . . . beastly.

Paperback, Movie Tie-in Edition, 304 pages
Published February 8th 2011 by HarperTeen (first published October 2nd 2007)
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Retelling, Young Adult
My Thoughts
It’s my first Alex Flinn’s books. Aside Beastly, I’ve read 2 other Beauty and The Beast retelling, Beautiful Beast by Cindy C. Bennett and Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow by Jessica Day George. I love both of it, Beautiful Beast is a sweet Beauty and the Beast retelling set in present time without any kind of magic related while Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow is quite different from Beauty and the Beast I knew before, the Disney version.In Beastly, although it set on present time it has magical involvement. It’s more paranormal than contemporary just like Beautiful Beast novella. I think the author did a great job by related the story to issue that I can connect, the physical appearance. As much as inner beauty is more important than the outside, it is indeed take an important role for human. First impression mostly is about the outside. In some way, this story makes sense to me. I also like the way Kyle/Adrian needs times to find Lindy. Her story, as his love interest doesn’t show up much until half of the story. And when she finally in his life, they need more times to build relationship. But, I’m quite hard to believe that Kyle is only 16 years old. I mean, he said he build the greenhouse mostly by himself and he also do things I hardly believe a teenage boy do by himself.

Result: 3 of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

