Review: Every Day by David Levithan

13536427Blurb from Goodreads

In his New York Times bestselling novel, David Levithan introduces readers to what Entertainment Weekly calls a “wise, wildly unique” love story about A, a teen who wakes up every morning in a different body, living a different life.

Every day a different body. Every day a different life. Every day in love with the same girl.

There’s never any warning about where it will be or who it will be. A has made peace with that, even established guidelines by which to live: Never get too attached. Avoid being noticed. Do not interfere.
It’s all fine until the morning that A wakes up in the body of Justin and meets Justin’s girlfriend, Rhiannon. From that moment, the rules by which A has been living no longer apply. Because finally A has found someone he wants to be with—day in, day out, day after day.

With his new novel, David Levithan, bestselling co-author of Will Grayson, Will Grayson, and Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, has pushed himself to new creative heights. He has written a captivating story that will fascinate readers as they begin to comprehend the complexities of life and love in A’s world, as A and Rhiannon seek to discover if you can truly love someone who is destined to change every day.

ebook, 220 pages
Published August 28th 2012 by Knopf Books for Young Readers (first published January 1st 2012)
edition language: English
series: Every Day
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
From day 1 I read A’s story or day 5994 for him, I have a lot of questions I really want answers. As the story goes I thought this is definitely one of books I can’t decide whether I will love and enjoy it or hate it, thought at first I feel sorry for A.There are nights I remember screaming and crying, begging my parents not to make me go to bed. They could never figure out what I was afraid of. They thought it was a monster under the bed, or a ploy to get a few more bedtime stories. I could never really explain, not in a way that made sense to them. I’d tell them I didn’t want to say goodbye, and they’d assure me it wasn’t goodbye. It was just good night. I’d tell them it was the same thing, but they thought I was being silly.

I will never have a family to grieve for me. I will never have people feel about me the way they feel about Marc’s grandfather. I will not leave the trail of memories that he’s left. No one will ever have known me or what I’ve done. If I die, there will be no body to mark me, no funeral to attend, no burial. If I die, there will be nobody but Rhiannon who will ever know I’ve been here.

Although his story reminds me of The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, his life is way unfortunate than Henry. Despite of the unavoidable time traveling, at least Henry has his own body, one thing that A doesn’t have. Hence, I can learn so much from him. I agree with him that love supposed to be beyond physical, figure or even gender. It doesn’t matter what package looks like, it’s the heart and mind that matter. I love that one thing about him. He doesn’t have a body but he’s capable of loving so full, if it’s possible. There is one thing I love most from his story, it’s his everyday life. I love reading his life day by day in many characters. His voice is very clear, I can feel each character is different yet has same mind, coming from one person, A. At some point I feel like I read short stories with A as its connections.It’s the way A falls in love to Rhiannon that makes me doubt if I will love or hate him. I can’t understand how can he instantly falls in love to Rhiannon? Is it love at first sight? If it is, he doesn’t fair to her and also Justin and all of inhabit bodies. As much as she understands his condition, I think her hesitation to A is understandable. I agree with his thought about loving and look past the blur but I also can see where Rhiannon think. All of things that Rhiannon think are quite normal and understandable for me, but it doesn’t make sense for A, just because it’s the way he thinks for all of his life. It makes me think that he is a selfish boy. And the more days I read, more selfish he become. Then, I’m glad he can see it through Rhiannon’s eyes and can learn from different angles. That one particular thing, one day of his life turn me to love him. It isn’t what he gives to Rhiannon in the end, it’s the way he accepts his life and learns from his mistakes that make me love this book.

I still don’t understand of A’s love to Rhiannon and think that it is a little bit between love at first sight and an infatuation and still don’t get the answers for my questions yet I’m happy with the unanswered ending. This story, just like A’s has many possibilities. And I’m open to many more possibilities.

Result: 4 of 5 stars
Favorite quotes:
“If there’s one thing I’ve learned, it’s this: We all want everything to be okay. We don’t even wish so much for fantastic or marvelous or outstanding. We will happily settle for okay, because most of the time, okay is enough.”
“Kindness connects to who you are, while niceness connects to how you want to be seen.”
“If other people see you differently, you’ll end up seeing them differently, too.”
Leave a Reply

