Review: Queen of the Realm of Faerie #3, The Dragon Carnivale by Heidi Garrett

17570539Blurb from Goodreads

Energies in the Enchanted World are shifting and new alliances are forming; the Battle of Dark and Light has begun. The half-faerie Melia is desperate to make things right with Ryder, the young priest from Idonne, but first she must warn the halfbloods in the Mortal World that Umbra is coming for them, and face the powerful Dragonwitch and her spectacular Dragon Carnivale.

The Queen of the Realm of Faerie is a five-book series inspired by the 14th century French fairy tale, Melusine. The final books Half-Mortal (#4) and War & Grace (#5) will be released in 2014.

ebook,
Published June 18th 2013 by Half-Faerie Publishing
edition language: English
series: Queen of the Realm of Faerie
genre: Fantasy, Young Adult
My Thoughts
An engaging story. Checked.
This is the continuation of Melia’s journey she takes it directly from book 2, Flower of Isbelline. She and Tatou travel back to Illialei to find Uncle Raffles. But few chapters in the beginning of the story kind of annoyed me. I feel like the author betrayed me because I do hope Melia meet him without incident. Her journey never easy, I just wish that even if only once, she gets what she wants easily. So, when she *SPOILER* couldn’t meet Uncle Raffles and instead trapped in Princess Lilliane’s black magic *END of SPOILER* I feel her journey to Illialei is useless. But then I realize in one way, her journey is supposed to be never easy, she has a huge responsibility to the Enchanted World and it’s kind of prepare her. I also realize those few chapters are the way the author introduced Princess Lilliane who, apparently, has an important role in the story. As the story goes, there are many different things happen at the same time. Some of it needs more attention from me to understand it, other part are what I wish will happen to the characters. But, I can never guess where the story goes. It’s like when I prepare myself to read one thing, another different thing happens. Including what happen with Ryder. He’s so foolish I want to scream at him and ask him why he lets it happen, not after the similar thing happened in Flower of Isbelline. I think I need time to forgive him even if he has good reason to do what he did and Melia and other understand his action. With all of things happen in Melia’s journey, one thing for sure I can’t stop reading until I finished it and the surprises make the story better. I love the feeling when I can’t guess it even when it kind of irritated me and I want to scream to the characters πŸ˜€
Lovable characters. Checked.

Melia, Flora, Tatou, Ryder, Uncle Raffles, Sinjiin even Umbra, Sevondi, Princess Lilliane and other characters are have different perspective seeing the same thing. All of them are have their own virtue and vice. They have their own flaws and reasons. Therefore, I see them equal, thing that I didn’t see in Nandana’s Mark and Flower of Isbelline. Umbra can be the bad guy in The Enchanted World from some of characters eyes but for another he is the vassel to rebalance The Enchanted World, as strange as it is, I can understand it. That’s why I love them all but my favorite of course Melia and Flora. Love Flora for her witty-wisdom-sarcastic spring faerie attitude and Melia because she has so much on her shoulder but finally accepts it and willing to take the risk. Her training with Flora, Uncle Raffles, Sinjiin and Tatou is a great way for her acceptance but I think she began her training from the beginning of the story, when she met the siren, Calista and Bertille. I especially love this scene because I can relate it.

Beautifully written. Checked.

I already fall in love with the world building from book one but here, with many different things happen at the same time, I more realize the complexity of The Enchanted World. Each place well describe and it’s beautifully written.

Result: 5 of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

