Review: The Distance Between Us by Kasie West

17251018Blurb from Goodreads

Money can’t buy a good first impression.

Seventeen-year-old Caymen Meyers learned early that the rich are not to be trusted. And after years of studying them from behind the cash register of her mom’s porcelain-doll shop, she has seen nothing to prove otherwise. Enter Xander Spence—he’s tall, handsome, and oozing rich. Despite his charming ways and the fact that he seems to be one of the first people who actually gets her, she’s smart enough to know his interest won’t last. Because if there’s one thing she’s learned from her mother’s warnings, it’s that the rich have a short attention span. But just when Xander’s loyalty and attentiveness are about to convince Caymen that being rich isn’t a character flaw, she finds out that money is a much bigger part of their relationship than she’d ever realized. With so many obstacles standing in their way, can she close the distance between them?

ebook, 320 pages
Published July 2nd 2013 by HarperTeen
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
I like the premise, it intrigued me. I think it can be a sweet-awesome story. Love the main characters, Caymen and Xander but especially Caymen. While Xander is a polite-oblivious-responsible boy, Caymen is a sarcastic-witty with dry humor girl. I think I rarely read this kind of quality in YA female main characters nowadays. That makes her special, unique. I like the setting and the way the author wrote it makes me feel I’m with them, be in the story.

But somehow it didn’t amaze me. As much as I love Caymen sarcasm and dry humor, I’m quite annoyed when she has a supposed-to-be-serious conversation with her mom. I know it’s how she handles it but to me it didn’t look like she really wants to know what happen with her mom or demand her mom to be honest with her. It’s just irritated me. I also think that the story quite predictable, most of my guesses were right. Hence, when I read I just read it without feeling like I’m waiting for the climax to come. I think I never expected it. So, the conclusion is I like and enjoyed it but it didn’t wow me.

Result: 2.5 stars of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

