Review: Headfirst Falling by Melissa Guinn

18329954Blurb from Goodreads

Falling in love. It doesn’t seem to fit, like falling shouldn’t be used in conjunction with love. We don’t fall gracefully. In fact, there’s nothing graceful about it. We crash into things—hit them hard, bounce around, give ourselves cuts, bruises or break bones… And it’s never planned. It takes you by surprise. You lose control.

Charlie Day fell in love with Jackson Stiles a long time ago. But that was before he and her brother enlisted and went to Iraq. Before Jackson came back different. Before they told Charlie her brother would never come back at all.

A lot of things have changed since then. But when Jackson takes a job at the company where Charlie works, she discovers that one thing hasn’t changed—the spark between them. She’s not sure she can love this new Jackson, or forgive him for the part he played in her brother’s death. It’s too bad for Charlie that, with love, you don’t always have a choice.

Kindle Edition, 262 pages
Published September 23rd 2013 by Carina Press (first published January 1st 2013)
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
When I read the blurb, I thought I will read more about grieving, PTSD, and how hard Chalie & Jackson’s relationship since there will always be Adam’s death between them. But sadly, I didn’t get much about those things. Chalie’s grieve doesn’t show up until the last few chapters. Most of the time she can hide her grieve well but that makes me hard to believe that she’s grieving, not until *SPOILER* Stewart almost rape her *End of SPOILER*. And so does with Jackson, I know the war affected him so much and he has problems dealing it but again I didn’t see him struggling with his PTSD. Maybe it’s because this story told from Chalie’s but I still think it is way better if Jackson at least open up his pain, though a little bit to Chalie. The more he hides his pain, the more I can’t connect to him. In this kind of book, I often look for for the grieving part and waiting for the characters to face their anxiety. So when I didn’t feel it most of the time, I can’t connect to the characters. They hide their pain so well I can’t feel them while I really want to feel them to get to the story.It makes the story feels flat for more than half part of the story. There isn’t anything that made my heart beat fast or angry or anything while in some part it is quite predictable to me. I was quite bored with Chalie’s life I have to skip a lot of her daily habit and her preparation for her date with Jackson.

But I liked Chalie’s relationship with her father and he made me smile every time he comes to the story. I also enjoyed Taylor and Devin and kind of wish they have their own book. In the end I think this is an okay story, though lack of things I look forward and based on Goodreads, an okay story means 2 stars worthy so 2 stars from me for Charlie and Jackson story.

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for honest review. Thanks to Melissa Guinn, Carina Press and NetGalley.
Result: 2 out of 5 stars
One thought on “Review: Headfirst Falling by Melissa Guinn

  1. Pingback: Headfirst Falling by Melissa Guinn | LeAnn's Book Reviews

Leave a Reply

