Reading Anywhere: Doraemon, my childhood friend

IMG_20131027_110251

This is my first picture after I decided to create this blog. I took it on November 18, 2012 at one of bookfairs in Jakarta, Indonesia. Actually seeing people reading at a book fair is a common thing, right? People buy books at bookfair so there is nothing special about it. But I do think this is an interesting picture because it was taken at a mosque which is close to the bookfair and I loved what the girl read. I can see that she was eager to read what her mom bought her, a Doraemon comic or manga as Japanese said while waiting for her mom to do the afternoon prayer.

I grew up watching Doraemon anime (a cartoon television series), 23 years ago. The amazing thing is it still broadcasts here with different stories every Sunday morning, at 8 am to be exactly! My youngest sister whose is in sophomore college year now also loved both its manga and anime. So, Doraemon is a childhood comic and TV series as well as childhood memories for 3 generations here in Indonesia.

If you don’t know who Doraemon is, I tell you a little bit. He is an intelligent robotic cat who travels back in time from the 22nd century to aid a pre-teen boy, Nobita Nobi.  He has a pocket from which he produces many gadgets, medicines, and tools from the future. He is created by Fujiko A. Fujio. Aside awesome-imaginable stories Doraemon and his friends have, he can also be an interesting ‘teacher’ for children. As you can see in one of Doraemon comics belong to my sister below. The stories are about mathematic problem that Nobita has for his homeworks.

IMG_20131027_110446IMG_20131027_110528

I agree with Neil Gaiman, there is no such a thing as a bad book for children. Even comics can teach me something. Who said comics aren’t good for children?

C360_2013-10-27-10-59-59-960

5 thoughts on “Reading Anywhere: Doraemon, my childhood friend

  1. I really enjoyed reading this post and I love the picture:) I have never head about the robotic cat, Doraemon, but I love cats so I would probably love it. It sounds very clever! I’m also not a big reader of comics, but I think anything that engages a child’s imagination is wonderful. I love your concept of Reading Anywhere!

    • Thanks Heidi, I try to post pictures for my Reading Anywhere once in a month since it’s been one year since I got the idea 🙂

      Doraemon is a clever cat and his pocket really helpful. I remember I really want to have him when I was a child 😀

  2. Pingback: CitiBank in drive to offer Private Banking to Thais in the province to help in “Wealth Building” | Thai News Break

  3. I’ve never read books on a book fair. 😀 On a book fair I buy them, I read them somewhere else. 😉

    I like Doraemon, it’s a great series. It’s not only about teaching math problems, etc. It’s also teaching morals and manners. Those who try to cheat out their way (like Nobita) gets punished in some way. And the stories are short and funny.

    Could you post a scan of the page instead of an image with phone?

    I can’t wait to see other “Reading Anywhere”, 🙂 Do you talk with the people on photos?

Leave a Reply

