Review: Thompson Sisters #3, The Last Hour by Charles Sheehan-Miles

17156406Blurb from Goodreads

Twenty-seven year old Carrie Thompson-Sherman has the life she always wanted: her PhD, a prestigious fellowship, and an amazing husband.

Her life begins to unravel as a jealous colleague puts her fellowship in jeopardy and a haunting secret Ray Sherman carried home from Afghanistan comes to light.

Hounded by a federal investigation and the ensuing media feeding frenzy, Carrie and Ray desperately lean on each other, until a disastrous accident puts both Ray and her sister’s lives at risk.

In the last hour, Carrie and Ray will each find themselves faced with a choice.

A choice that will change everything.

Kindle Edition, 482 pages
Published April 19th 2013 by Cincinnatus Press (first published April 17th 2013)
edition language: English
series: Thompson Sisters
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
To be honest I don’t know whether I should hate Mr. Sheehan-Miles or love him for his writing in this book. It has a great opening story. One of the best opening stories I’ve ever read in NA contemporary romance book. I didn’t read reviews of this book to avoid the spoiler. I hate spoiler so I don’t know what Carrie and Ray story will be. I picked this book because of my love of The Thompson Sisters series. The opening story was surprised me because I tend to avoid this kind of story. I can say that it’s so close to me. In some way I’ve been in Carrie’s shoes. That’s why I have to put this book down for a while, a day or two, I think. Not because I didn’t like it but because I have to prepare myself to the feeling I had. And for that, it made this book more personal to me that I thought before. I think it’s such an incredible gift for a writer who can touch her/his readers with her/his story.
I love every.single.thing. in this book. I love how strong Carrie and Ray relationship was; love how they love, trust and hold each other; love their crazy family. I think it showed that nothing is perfect even when you feel perfect. Carry and Ray story wasn’t all rainbow and sunshine but it was still perfect in an imperfect way. But the most important was I love that this book has so much more stories, more than just about a love and relationship of two people who were falling in love.
As much as I love a happy ending, I’m glad Mr. Sheehan-Miles did what he wrote because I feel it was more reasonable and believable that way. It was sad but I think it was a bittersweet ending. I couldn’t ask for more that that.
Favorite quotes:
“And when you lie, you hurt this part of you. Cause then you’ve got secrets, and those will weigh you down until this part of you can’t even live any more. And what’s the point of walking around without this part of you? It’d be like walking around without a heart.”
“I know life is a struggle. I know…we don’t always get what we want. And in some ways I had everything I could ask for. A career I love. The best sisters in the world. And then I met you…and everything was…perfect. I thought I had my happy ending.”
Result: 5 of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

