Review: Darklight #1, Death and the Girl Next Door by Darynda Jones

12986492Blurb from Goodreads

Sophomore Year Was Never Supposed to be This Complicated

Ten years ago, Lorelei McAlister’s parents disappeared without a trace, ans she is finally beginning to accept the fact that they’re never coming back. Life must go on. She’s got her grandparents and the support of her best friends, and high school is not quite as painful as she thought it would be.

But This is What Happens When You Fall for the Angel of Death.

Until the day the school’s designated loner, Cameron Lusk, begins to stalk her, turning up where she least expects it, standing outside her house in the dark, tough, sexy Jared Kovach – comes to school. Cameron and Jared instantly despise each other, and Lorelei seems to be the reason for their animosity.

Life as She Knows it is About to Change Forever.

What does Jared know about her parents? Why does Cameron tell Jared he can’t have Lorelei? And what will any of them do when Death comes knocking for real? Thrilling, sassy, sexy, and inventive, Death and the Girl Next Door proves Darynda Jones is a force to be reckoned with.

ebook, 219 pages
Published October 2nd 2012 by St. Martin’s Griffin
edition language: English
series: Darklight
genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
 
My Thoughts
 
The idea of the story is quite interesting, but I didn’t like the romance in it, Lorelei and Jared relationship is way too fast and I couldn’t believe how easy it seems for Jared to break the rule and “abandon” his job because he fall in love with Lorelei while he have had the job for as long as the time itself.
 
I liked the way Lorelei, the narrator and main character, tells her story. I also liked her relationship with her best friend, Brooke and Glitch and the way they interact with each other. They are witty, funny and act like 16 years old normal teenagers, thing I rarely read in YA books. But gosh…they surely love chatting. They are too talkative for my taste. They talk about anything and everything, even when it doesn’t relate to the story. Sometimes they are funny but mostly I’m annoyed and bored when they talk about nothing while other characters talk about one thing at the same time. Reading it is like having two or three different conversation at the same time in my head. It’s so loud, confusing and annoying.

First part of the story is really slow and I feel like I want to tell the characters the answer to their questions. It’s so irritating reading their inability to guess who Jared is while it’s so obvious from the beginning of story to me. When the story is getting interesting with surprises, the characters still annoyed and bored me. I ended up couldn’t connect with them. I don’t know whether I will read the sequel soon, but if I read I’m surely it will be because of Cameron, I think he is more interesting than Jared. I liked his unpredictable character.

 
Result: 2.5 out of 5 stars

 

Leave a Reply

