Review: Marked Men #1, Rule by Jay Crownover

17200687Blurb from Goodreads

Opposites in every way . . . except the one that matters

Shaw Landon loved Rule Archer from the moment she laid eyes on him. Rule is everything a straight–A pre-med student like Shaw shouldn’t want–and the only person she’s never tried to please. She isn’t afraid of his scary piercings and tattoos or his wild attitude. Though she knows that Rule is wrong for her, her heart just won’t listen.

To a rebel like Rule Archer, Shaw Landon is a stuck-up, perfect princess-and his dead twin brother’s girl. She lives by other people’s rules; he makes his own. He doesn’t have time for a good girl like Shaw-even if she’s the only one who can see the person he truly is.

But a short skirt, too many birthday cocktails, and spilled secrets lead to a night neither can forget. Now, Shaw and Rule have to figure out how a girl like her and a guy like him are supposed to be together without destroying their love . . . or each other.

Kindle Edition, 327 pages
Published December 30th 2012 by Jay Crownover Books
edition language: English
series: Marked Men
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
I read this book without any expectation since I pretty much knew it’s a cliche/nothing new kind of story, but I really hope I can still enjoy it. And my friends seem to like it. So I thought I will give it a try. It was kind of reminds me of Tall, Tatted and Tempting by Tammy Falkner which I really liked and gave it 3.5 stars. I even ended up can’t get enough of the Reed brothers. I thought I might have that feeling too to this book.

And then, these were my reaction for the first five chapters:
Chapter 1, Rule is an asshole
Chapter 2, I don’t understand why does Shaw keep torturing herself to be in the middle of Rule and his family. I know she loves him, but still. And he’s an adult, but act like a child.
Chapter 3, Shaw changes (or not) well…it’s the first time Rule sees her in a cloth that shows more skin than he usually sees her. And he realized that she’s gorgeous. He can’t stop staring at and ogling her and starts being a Neanderthal
Chapter 4, Prejudice much?
Chapter 5, Finally……

I think those weren’t good reaction for first part of the story, an introduction to the story, if I may say. But I still have my hope so I continue reading it. Despite the cliche plot, you know a bad boy meets a virgin heroine with a whore cheerleader and a creepy ex-boyfriend between them, I also found it was so predictable. I pretty much have guessed “the secret/the supposed to be surprise” of the story from the beginning of the story, chapter 2 to be exactly. I even imagined what will happen to Rule and Shaw as their closure. Angst and drama are my pet peeves in contemporary books. So it wasn’t a surprise for me imagined Rule and Shaw’s ending will be full of drama and angst. And then funny thing happened, a few chapters before the end, Shaw did something that put (part of) her to stay away for a few weeks from Rule. I was questioning (wondering and curious, to be honest, whether my imagination fits to the story) how she can do it. And then voila! It was as I imagined. That how predictable it was.

Although it was told from both Rule and Shaw POV, they couldn’t make me connect with them instantly. I really have to try hard to feel them. At first I thought it was because Rule being Rule, a bad boy who couldn’t let people loved him and Shaw who is in love with him for her whole life so she was always stand by his side. But then I thought even if they being as they are, if they can describe it well I can connect and feel them easily. I finally can connect with them, though and it made my reading a lot better, at least better from first part of the story. In this part, I was quite liked with Rule’s family drama.

And there is one thing I usually can ignore but apparently not this time, its typos and especially lack of punctuation. Maybe the copy I had was a first edition (I forgot about it, though) but I’m sure the author and her team could do better than this. There were a lot of sentences that can also serve as paragraphs. One sentence can be in one paragraph because there wasn’t any other punctuation except a full stop at the end of the sentence and/or paragraph.

She sent her husband up around five to tell me that we were leaving in an hour for the club and while a big part of me wanted nothing more than to wear skinny jeans and my motorcycle boots I decided that having that fight with my mother in front of my half siblings would just make me seem childish and ridiculous so I put on a long sleeved white and purple A-line dress that hit me a few inches above my knee and spent a few minute flat-ironing my hair so that it fell in a slick
curtain around my shoulders. 

To be honest, reading it made me breathless because I felt like I only have one breathe to read in one paragraph.

Result: 2 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

