Review: The Taking #1, Gravity by Melissa West

12844575Blurb from Goodreads

In the future, only one rule will matter:

Don’t. Ever. Peek.

Seventeen-year-old Ari Alexander just broke that rule and saw the last person she expected hovering above her bed — arrogant Jackson Locke, the most popular boy in her school. She expects instant execution or some kind of freak alien punishment, but instead, Jackson issues a challenge: help him, or everyone on Earth will die.

Ari knows she should report him, but everything about Jackson makes her question what she’s been taught about his kind. And against her instincts, she’s falling for him. But Ari isn’t just any girl, and Jackson wants more than her attention. She’s a military legacy who’s been trained by her father and exposed to war strategies and societal information no one can know — especially an alien spy, like Jackson. Giving Jackson the information he needs will betray her father and her country, but keeping silent will start a war.

ebook, 217 pages
Published October 30th 2012 by Entangled Select
edition language: English
series: The Taking
genre: Dystopia, Sci-fi, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
I like reading dystopia books, and post The Hunger Games, it seems dystopia is one of the most popular genres for YA books. To be honest, most of them didn’t work for me. 1) Dystopia books make me pay more attention to the world-building and setting. I think both of them have to be described well and believable. But they also have to be related to our time now since most of them take our time as their history. In this case I find it’s hard to read YA dystopian with believable world-building and setting, even in YA dystopian I loved, I still find things I didn’t quite like. 2) Being YA books, they tend to have more romance than dystopia which sometimes I didn’t find the dystopia things that the blurb promised me. It makes me think that dystopia is just a cover to attract me to read it. However, it doesn’t mean I don’t want to read YA dystopia anymore which led me to this book.
Alien invasion isn’t a new thing in YA dystopia. But somehow, this book has something that makes it different from them. First thing I recognize was the time setting. It takes place in 2133, a very long time after now. I was kind of liked it because the damage from alien invasion in the story was quite impossible if it happens only a few years from now.

Although Ari, the MC mentioned things that quite different from our would now, in some part I still feel it wasn’t much different either. I imagine it will be much more different because it’s 120 years ahead from now. There are also things that are so hard for me to picture it and in the end I just ignore it.

Just like any other YA books, this book also has romance. Ari, who is a commander’s daughter of Sydia, falls in love with Jackson, a common citizen. I liked that their relationship doesn’t take more pages than the main story. There are more actions with a lot of training scenes to prepare them for war with alien. And the idea they have war through virus, instead of weapon, is more frightening me. On the other hand, I also wanted to read more about the government and their political systems, both from human and alien side which unfortunately didn’t much describe. It made me mostly questioning their political systems.
The story told from Ari’s POV but I got the two side stories between alien and human, which I liked. Each race claims they have good intention to live on earth, therefore they reasoning the war is the best way to make it happens. It made me hard to choose which side I am because I can see both good and bad side from them. I was happy with one thing yet didn’t like with the other.

All in all, though it lack of world-building and has an insta-love. I think I can say I liked and enjoyed reading it.

Result: 3 out of 5 Stars
6 thoughts on “Review: The Taking #1, Gravity by Melissa West

      • If you’ll read only EASY books, you WON’T improve your English. It might be difficult when you start to read them, but it’ll get better soon. Don’t use the excuse of “I’m still learning” because it’s what will you do your whole life. 😉
        Some of those books you can get for free as an ebook.

Leave a Reply

