Review: Mer Tales #1, Everblue by Brenda Pandos

11700785Blurb from Goodreads

She wanted her life to change… he wanted his to stay the same.

Best friends share everything with each other. Or do they? Seventeen-year-old Ashlyn Frances Lanski is tired of her boring, single life. Spending time with her best friend Tatiana, dreaming about kissing Tatiana’s twin brother Fin, and swimming competitively are her only sanctuary. The girls plan to leave their drab lakeside town far behind for college. But when Tatchi fails to return home after a family emergency, and no one knows where the family has gone, Ash chooses to do something drastic to find them.

Ashlyn is about to discover what she’d thought to be true her whole life, wasn’t, and the truth, too fantastical to imagine. Secrets lurk beneath the deep blue waters of Lake Tahoe, secrets that will change Ashlyn’s life forever.

ebook, 304 pages
Published July 30th 2011 by Obsidian Mountain Publishing (first published July 29th 2011)
edition language: English
genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult

My Thoughts

I don’t know why but I rarely reading mermaid story. This book is my only second time reading it. I guess it also makes me barely know about mermaid/merman world.

Since this is only my second time reading mermaid story, I cannot help to compare it with the only YA mermaid series I’ve read, Fins by Tera Lynn Childs. I liked and enjoyed reading it but unfortunately I can’t say the same for this book.

The world-building of Natatoria, the mer world, and how does it work for the mers were quite confusing me. I have to struggle to understand it. When I can get over it, I also have to struggle to keep my eyes and my mind to the story. It’s so slow and there aren’t things happen to the characters, even when it does happen it isn’t something big. So I kept distracted by many things, instead of reading it. The big thing only happens at the end of the story, for around 90% of the book. By the time the paced finally pick up, the only thing I want to do is finish it so that I can move to another book.

It doesn’t mean it isn’t a good book. I liked the way it’s written. I also liked the characters, especially when they talk in Irish slang. I don’t get often reading in Irish slang so I was enjoying it. And it also told from 2 POV, Ash and Fin. I get 2 different worlds from 2 perspective, though their POV aren’t perfect either. I guess I can say it is an okay book but it didn’t wow me.

Result: 2.5 out of 5 Stars

Leave a Reply

