Review: Nature of Grace #1, Untraceable by S.R. Johannes

12731861Blurb from Goodreads

16-year-old Grace has lived in the Smokies all her life, patrolling with her forest ranger father who taught her about wildlife, tracking, and wilderness survival.

When her dad goes missing on a routine patrol, Grace refuses to believe he’s dead and fights the town authorities, tribal officials, and nature to find him.

One day, while out tracking clues, Grace is rescued from danger by Mo, a hot guy with an intoxicating accent and a secret. As her feelings between him and her ex-boyfriend get muddled, Grace travels deep into the wilderness to escape and find her father.

Along the way, Grace learns terrible secrets that sever relationships and lives. Soon she’s enmeshed in a web of conspiracy, deception, and murder. And it’s going to take a lot more than a compass and a motorcycle (named Lucifer) for this kick-butting heroine to save everything she loves.

Kindle Edition, 315 pages
Published November 29th 2011 by Coleman & Stott (first published November 15th 2011)
edition language: English
series: Nature of Grace
genre: Suspense, Young Adult
My Thoughts
ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.

Let’s be honest, I requested this book from NetGalley because 1) the cover reminded me of Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. 2) The main character, Grace Wells is quite similar to Caledonia from The Athena Effect series by Derrolyn Anderson. I love both series and somehow I thought that I might like this one too, though I didn’t set my hope high. Just in case it isn’t as good as I think before so I won’t too disappointed, if you know what I mean.

So this is a story about 16 years old girl, Grace Wells, who loves nature. Her dad is a wildlife officer. One day her dad is gone, missing, out of the blue. Everybody in her town believed that he’s already died because of drowning in one of the rivers in Smoky Mountains. Grace refused their thought she believes he’s still alive. Therefore she does her own research into the deep Smoky Mountains.

[…]I – a sixteen-year-old tomboy who can build a fire from scratch, yet can’t seem to cut her own bangs straight— […]

From the moment Grace was introduced I already loved her. She’s smart (though she said it depends on to whom you talking to), fierce, brave and independence. But she’s also impulsive and stubborn. Those qualities sometimes annoying me but other time have its perks for her research. One thing I understand well is her love for nature and animals. It’s like her purpose is to protect them, aside to find her dad, of course. She talks about it all the time. She even made a metaphor/analogy based on animals and nature which I really liked, by the way. It convinced me of how good she is as a character.

Without saying anything, I study his eyes. They’re similar in color to mine, except mine resemble algae; his are more of a muted pine green, which reminds me of the deep forest.

I peer through a crack in the wood, wondering if this is what a roach feels like.

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQDQSvNICufGholmqf2WbbpNgiy7DkZB-BKCLYsfv2Q7IiQ7m4Qvw
The story itself was quite simple, I can guess some of the important things from first part of the story. But the way it was written made me kept wondering whether what I thought was right or wrong. It surely was a page-turner book since I couldn’t take my eyes off of it. It also has a very good paced. I liked how the author built the tension. There were time for funny and sad moments but there was also times when my heart beat fast with Grace. I just love the roller coaster feeling that I got while I read this.
However it also has things that felt like kind of farfetched to me. It didn’t make me less enjoy it, though. In fact reading this book brought back my memory and feeling like when I read one of my favorite detective books when I was a child, Alfred Hitchcock and the Three Investigators. It’s a good feeling since I seemed couldn’t get enough of the story, just like now I think I should read its soon
Result: 3.5 out of 5 Stars
Leave a Reply

