Review: One Week Girlfriend Quartet #3, Three Broken Promises by Monica Murphy

18111977Blurb from Goodreads

Commitment. That’s what I really want from Colin. Ever since my brother, Danny, died in Iraq, Colin’s done so much to help me, including giving me a job at his popular restaurant so I can leave my crappy waitressing job at the strip joint. But lying in bed with him every night to comfort him from his horrible nightmares isn’t enough anymore. I know he feels guilty about Danny’s death, about not going to Iraq, but I can’t keep living this double life.

I love him desperately, but he’s got so many demons, and if he can’t open up to me now, then he’ll never be the real partner I need him to be. I gave him a month, and now I’m out of here. If he truly loves me like he says, he knows where to find me.

ebook, 304 pages
Published December 31st 2013 by Random House Publishing Group
edition language: English
series: One Week Girlfriend Quartet
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
So I’m going to go straight about this book. The way the author wrote this book wasn’t as good book #2, Second Chance Boyfriend which is my favorite of the series so far. I can still connect to the characters, Colin Wilder and Jennifer Cade but I’m not quite like them. They weren’t lovable characters for me. Colin didn’t much different from where he was first introduced in Second Chance Boyfriend, which I liked that way because it showed that that’s the way he is while I couldn’t say the same for Jennifer. It might be because she didn’t have a big part on book 2, at least not as big as Colin, or maybe it was because I didn’t pay much attention to her there. One thing for sure she was kind of annoying me here. She kept telling Colin that she’s a big girl, can take care of herself, not to worry about her, not to always help her, and all the similar things. But at the same time she kept making the same mistakes, fell to the same hole again and again yet couldn’t learn from it. After so many times it happened that were just irritating me.
And then, I didn’t quite like their relationship either. Both of them hide their feeling and refused to communicate to each other in the name of guilty. I understand they feeling, I did but their hide and seek, push and pull relationship was exhausting me. Hell…even Colin and Jen realized it but why they did it again and again was a big question for me.

“All we do is talk in circles. I say the same thing, you say the same thing, and then everything’s fine. But really, everything isn’t fine. We just come back to this. Every. Single. Time.”

One thing that worked for them was the sex. But I want a very good love story, not just misunderstanding relationship with great sex for the characters story. Although I liked the last couple chapters toward the end, I felt Colin and Jen happy ending happened in a rush. This is definitely didn’t work for me and the least I liked from the series (so far).

Result: 2 out of 5 Stars
Leave a Reply

