Review: Knowing Jack by Rachel Curtis

19172402Blurb from Goodreads

I am not a slut, although I’ve been called one often enough. Yeah, I spent three months screwing one of my college professors, but I was crazy about the guy. Then he broke up with me.

I am not a bitch, although people like to say I am. I kept our relationship secret. I’m not responsible for telling the university administrators about it, but a lot of students still blame me for getting their favorite professor fired.

I am not a drama queen, although everyone thinks I am now. When I got a few nasty messages, I just deleted them. When I got the threat, I assumed it was someone being stupid. I still think that’s all it was. My parents worry, though, so they hired me a bodyguard. Now Jack follows me around, intimidating everyone who approaches me and looking obnoxiously hot.

This is what I am. I’m Chloe. I’m a twenty-year-old art history major. Kind of shy, although I pretend not to be. Stubborn enough to stay here for my senior year, even though everyone hates me.

And I’m stuck with Jack.

He calls me “Princess,” but I’m not a princess either.

ebook, 165 pages
Published January 17th 2014 by Rachel Curtis (first published January 15th 2014)
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
Do you read the blurb before you read the book? I mostly read it before I decide to read the book. But I should’ve known better that I shouldn’t too rely on the blurb before I read the book because sometimes it misleads me. When I read the blurb of this book in NetGalley I was intrigued. Somehow I thought it will contain a drama with some kind of suspense and/or thriller scenes since the main character, Chloe has a bodyguard, Jack. Apparently, it’s all about knowing Jack, literally. In this case, the title suits well since there is barely anything else aside about Chloe’s trying to know Jack the whole time. I honestly don’t know what I should feel about it. Should I disappointed because there isn’t much story in it or should I be happy since the title has already tells much. You tell me.

As you may read in the blurb, it’s about Chloe who has a bodyguard after her affair with her professor which caused him to get fired from their university. Her parents feel there are death threats to her. Therefore they hire Jack. That’s why Jack gets his job in the first place.

Although most of the story is told from Chloe’s POV, there are chapters from Jack’s too, the prelude, interlude (is told after a couple of chapters from Chloe’s POV) and postlude. In prelude, he’s attracted (but I feel like it’s more a lust than just an ordinary attraction) to her from the first time he lays his eyes on her. Apparently she feels the same which she tells me from the first chapter, from page four to be exactly.

It’s basically what she talks and thinks all the time in a whole book. Here is what she says

” I can’t think about anything except Jack and his big body and his strong hands and his rough jaw and that deep, hot, knowing look in his eyes”.

She desperately lusting on him (her words, not mine), keeps thinking about how sexy Jack is and wanting to have sex with him. And everything he says, does and even when he doesn’t do anything (she only hears his voice) makes her shiver and quiver and her girly parts clench (again, it’s her words, not mine). She tells me all those things too many times. She also has annoying habit giving me advice about “how to or what I supposed to do” when I face certain kind of situations. First couple of chapters is about a situation regarding on a hot bodyguard since she knows it well and is on man-fast.

I’m on a man-fast. Fasting from food is supposed to be good for you – clear your body, clear your mind, get you refocused on what’s important. […]. So this year, I’m fasting from men, so I can focus on what’s more important.”

Apparently she fails it miserably. And instead of focus on what’s important such as finding who send her text message and post her photos on Tumblr, she keeps lusting him and doesn’t understand why he couldn’t be with her. She said on the blurb that she’s a shy girl. I don’t think I agree with her because there isn’t anything that mention or prove that she’s a shy girl. I don’t know what to call her, though.

Jack also isn’t better than her. When it’s time for him to tell me his POV he has the same things in his mind. How beautiful and perfect Chloe is, though she’s a tiny small girl; acts and thinks like a caveman; and attack first ask later to someone who approach her. He also has an annoying habit. He keeps thinking about her, flirting with her, mad of her then have sex with her before he realizes that it isn’t good for their bodyguard-protectee relationship. This pattern happens many times.

All the while I keep thinking where is the death threat that Chloe’s parents afraid of? I think it’s just in their thought (and mine too when I read the blurb). So who did send her text messages and post her photos on Tumblr, you ask? Well…there is a bad guy here but it’s so obvious I don’t have to think twice to guess it. And when they can tell who it is, it is just so so-so I feel relieve that finally the story ended.

ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.
Result: 1 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

