Review: Finding Fate #1, Best Kind of Broken by Chelsea Fine

18360175Blurb from Goodreads

Pixie and Levi haven’t spoken in nearly a year when they find themselves working―and living―at the same inn in the middle of nowhere. Once upon a time, they were childhood friends. But that was before everything went to hell. And now things are… awkward.

All they want to do is avoid each other, and their past, for as long as possible. But now that they’re forced to share a bathroom, and therefore a shower, keeping their distance from one another becomes less difficult than keeping their hands off each other. Welcome to the hallway of awkward tension and sexual frustration, folks. Get comfy. It’s going to be a long summer.

ebook, 336 pages
Published March 4th 2014 by Forever
Edition language: English
Series: Finding Fate
Genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.

“There’s no such thing as too broken. Anything can heal.”

When I saw Chelsea Fine latest book is up on NetGalley, I felt like I wanted to jump up and down was so relieved because it’s been a while since she writes a book. I know it isn’t easy writing a book, but come on I miss her stories. So I literally did everything I can to read this book as soon as possible.

So let’s meet our new characters Sarah Marshall aka Pixie and Levi Andrews aka Leaves. Pixie and Levi had been best friend for a long time, since they were a child. They knew each other through Levi’s little sister, Charity. Pixie has a dysfunctional family but she has other family full of love whose she can run to, the Andrews. Charity teaches her to be brave, confident and always feel beautiful when her mom always says the opposite. And Levi always stands beside her, be there for her. He is her hero and their parents love her just like they love their children. Basically, the Andrews are a place to call home for Pixie. But then, a terrible thing happened which cause them fall apart. This is when the story takes place.

Unlike The Archers of Avalon (it’s one of my favorite YA series, by the way), this book is told from Pixie and Levi POV which makes me so happy because I love reading from first POV. It was so enjoyable reading from Pixie and Lexi POV. I love their banter, love the way they ogle and check each other out, I even love when they thinking each other. I just love being in their mind and seeing through their eyes. Hence it was so easy to connect with their story. I laugh, sad, happy and proud with them.

I also like the way Chelsea Fine build the story. To be honest there is nothing new in Pixie and Levi’s story but Ms. Fine wrote it really well it can make me glue to the book er…to my ereader, to be exact. I read it in one sitting, that’s how addictive it is.

“No,” I say, loud enough to be heard over the roaring wind and rain.
She blinks. “No?”
“No, we can’t be just friends.” Rain drips down my face as my heart hammers against my rib cage. “Because we’re more than just friends, and we always have been. And I’m not talking about sex, Pix. I’m talking about trust and comfort. I’m talking about home.” Lightning strikes nearby and the wind picks up. I raise my voice. “You are not my friend, Pixie. You are a piece of my heart and a part of who I want to be.”

However there is one thing I didn’t quite satisfy. In first part of the story, what happened with Pixie and Levi in Willow inn happens in the same pattern. Everyday has similar story. Levi and Pixie fighting over hot shower which build sexual tension, doing they work a whole day and then remembering their past. All of them happen in the hallway east wing, the kitchen and/or living room in Willow inn. It was like there is nothing new in their present life in 40% of the book. But at the same time, I really like reading their past whenever they memorize it. It intertwined their present life really well.

In the end, I really liked this book, though it still can’t beat my love for Anew. And look forward to book 2 which will be about Daren and Kayla. I’m so curious of them, like, really want to know about them ASAP.

Result: 3 out of 5 stars

Leave a Reply

