Review: Unteachable by Leah Raeder

17978680Blurb from Goodreads

Maise O’Malley just turned eighteen, but she’s felt like a grown-up her entire life. The summer before senior year, she has plans: get into a great film school, convince her mom to go into rehab, and absolutely do not, under any circumstances, screw up her own future.

But life has a way of throwing her plans into free-fall.

When Maise meets Evan at a carnival one night, their chemistry is immediate, intense, and short-lived. Which is exactly how she likes it: no strings. But afterward, she can’t get Evan out of her head. He’s taught her that a hookup can be something more. It can be an unexpected connection with someone who truly understands her. Someone who sees beyond her bravado to the scared but strong girl inside.

That someone turns out to be her new film class teacher, Mr. Evan Wilke.

Maise and Evan resolve to keep their hands off each other, but the attraction is too much to bear. Together, they’re real and genuine; apart, they’re just actors playing their parts for everyone else. And their masks are slipping. People start to notice. Rumors fly. When the truth comes to light in a shocking way, they may learn they were just playing parts for each other, too.

Smart, sexy, and provocative, Unteachable is about what happens when a love story goes off-script.

Kindle Edition, 356 pages
Published: July 27th 2013 by Velvet Pony Press
Edition language: English
Genre: Romance, Contemporary, New Adult
My Thoughts
“I’m not going to do the whole rollercoaster/falling in love metaphor. I didn’t fall in love with him up there. Maybe I fell in love with the idea of love,..” This book is so intense and felt wrong at some point I wanted to stop reading it. I don’t read much about teacher-student relationship story, especially the one with a huge different age. At first Maise and Evan relationship reminded me of Lake and Will from Slammed by Colleen Hoover but Maise and Evan story were much more intense. Then there was a huge different age, I couldn’t help myself to not connect it with Julianne and Isaac from Want by Stephanie Lawton.

“Don’t judge me. You have no idea what you’re talking about.” Maise, the main character of this story shocked me since the first time she entered the story. So yes….it was from the very first page. She’s one of uncommon female characters I’ve read in YA/NA books. She’s bold, straight forward, fearless, shameless, reckless, and honest. She knows that she’s beautiful, smart and a good liar. And she doesn’t pretend that she’s not in those qualities. She’s aware of her beauty and uses it for her own good. Why I think she’s unlike most of female characters in YA/NA books I read? Usually they are described so beautiful but they don’t realize it. But not Maise, she knows it very well. Her boldness, reckless, shameless and honesty made me wanted to stop reading it. I didn’t mean to judge her and Evan but I can’t help myself to not questioning their sanity. In some part it felt wrong but I think it was just because she’s so honest telling me her story. I felt like I have to divert my eyes to look different things instead of their love just because they have an uncommon love from normal eyes. I have to read more to understand it. And did I understand them, in the end.

”The soft clack of the spokes, the groggy drone of bees and locusts, the honey-thick sunlight drizzling over us—I was in love with the world today. A big dumb smile climbed onto my face every time my mind drifted. The air tasted like sherry, sweet and light, a pleasant sting on my tongue.” What do you think of that sentence above? I think it’s poetic in romantic way. I loved the way it was written. It was beautiful in an honest way, just like Maise. Reading this book was like watching Terrence Malick movies, Maise favorite director, poignant, harsh yet beautiful. I can even imagine it in my mind clearly, every scene with every dialogue and monologue.

I really liked this story wrote in first person POV, from Maise POV, that way I can connect and feel her easily. But in some part I wished I can also read from Evan POV. For first part of the story, though their love is so intense I just couldn’t understand what made him drawn to her instantly. Hence, I thought it was just an infatuation or an obsession.

“So if we’re both so happy, why are we sad?” I think most of the time I felt like this is about obsession rather than a love story. Maise and Evan are obsess with each other they couldn’t see anything and anyone except themselves. There’s no one else aside them in the world. It might be romantic but on the hand I don’t think it’s a healthy relationship.

I also liked the way the author wrote Maise’s mom. She doesn’t has much scene even compare to Wesley, Maise’s friend, but every time she appears she can bring the worse of herself and boy…the way she talks made me think that either she’s not smart enough or she’s uneducated. And how ironic reading Maise always wants to be treated and act like an adult while she couldn’t and kind of ignorant as an adult. Thus, she can make me dislike her and felt sorry for Maise.With all the drama and angst that I loved in this story, I still couldn’t give it 5 perfect stars, though. It was because I was a little bit bored at second part of the story. There weren’t a lot of things happened here but don’t worry it was only a couple of chapters. I also can figure out Evan’s big secret and who Eric was. It didn’t mean that it was predictable, far from it. It was, on that particular scenes it didn’t surprise me either. I guess I was kind of expected it was more like Want by Stephanie Lawton when I felt like I didn’t know what I read till I finished it. And although I love the feeling reading it like watching movie, I didn’t quite satisfied with the ending which was as cliche as in romance movies. I was kind of hope it will be more grand than that.

However, it’s one of the intense NA books I’ve read. If you like story with angst and drama I recommend it to you.

Result: 4 out of 5 stars
Favorite quotes:
“…You should love something while you have it, love it fully and without reservation, even if you know you’ll lose it someday. We lose everything. If you’re trying to avoid loss, there’s no point in taking another breath, or letting your heart beat one more time. It all ends.” His fingers curl around mine. “That’s all life is. Breathing in, breathing out. The space between two breaths.”
“Part of falling in love with someone is actually falling in love with yourself. Realizing that you’re gorgeous, you’re fearless and unpredictable, you’re a firecracker spitting light, entrancing a hundred faces that stare up at you with starry eyes.”
“That’s another thing about lies: if you convince yourself they’re true, they become true. A lie is a discrepancy of belief, not fact.”
“That is all life is. Breathing in, breathing out. The space between two breaths.”
“I am the master of my fate, I am the captain of my soul and all that jazz.”
Leave a Reply

