Review: Delicate by Steph Campbell

12619367Blurb from Goodread

Sydney Pierce has just met the guy of her dreams…just don’t tell her psycho boyfriend, Trevor.

With a gorgeous boyfriend, a thriving gymnastics career and a stellar academic record, anyone would assume that Sydney has it all. That’s precisely what the seventeen-year-old perfectionist wants you to believe, and she works hard to keep up the pretense. Especially now that there are cameras following her for a documentary on Olympic hopefuls.

When Grant, the charming new student, disrupts her carefully crafted routine, the cracks beneath her perfect façade begin to rise to the surface and despite Trevor’s objections to their friendship, she can’t stay away from him.

As her connection to Grant pulls her closer to him, the once lighthearted relationship with Trevor takes an intense and dark turn, forcing her into a position in which not only her happiness, but her safety is at stake. Can Sydney learn to let go of everything she is clinging to in order to gain everything she has ever wanted, or will she realize her breaking point too late?

ebook, 200 pages
Published July 17th 2012 (first published June 2012)
language edition: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
As my first encounter to Steph Campbell book and it looks like has something I love in the story, I have high hope to this one. Unfortunately it didn’t work for me.

First, I didn’t quite like the main character, Sydney. I know she has a lot on her plate but her whine annoyed me most of the time. She also keep comparing herself to other girl friends, jealous of them and always feeling insecure, though I think she has something to be proud of, being a National gymnast is hard and a very good reason to be proud of herself.

Second, the way she tells her story is so flat and boring. It’s like she read her story to me without any emotion in it. I can’t feel anything. Hence it’s so hard to connect with her. I also didn’t understand why Grant fall in love with her. I mean, I can’t feel her yet I want to know what part of her that makes him interested in her in first place. But I didn’t get anything.

Third, she is a gymnast but I don’t get more description about it. There is one YA book about gymnastic I really liked, Letters to Nowhere by Julie Cross. I cannot help to not compare it and there is a huge different between the two of them. In Letters to Nowhere I was so curious about gymnastic, which is completely an alien sport for me, I wanted to know about it while and after I read it. But here, I couldn’t care less since it’s only mention and describe a little about it. And she’s train for National but she doesn’t seem train as hard as I thought a professional athlete should be while her coach, Sam seems too easy letting her skip her train yet at the same time doesn’t realize when she trains with her injury.

Fourth, I don’t know what the book wants to focus. At first, I thought it’s about gymnast’s life since Sydney is a gymnast who has “reality show” but as I mentioned above, there aren’t enough gymnastic in it. Then, I thought maybe it’s about Sydney and Trevor abusive relationship but it isn’t as dark as the blurb stated. At least not as dark as similar YA story I’ve read. I also don’t get enough background story about it. There is also Sydney’s nightmares which mostly come from of what happened to her mom, again it doesn’t describe well. She only tells it randomly, between her conversations with Grant. Basically most of “heavy” subject only describe in the surface. Everything felt in a rushed. It’s like the author puts a little bit something here and there, like she puts a slice of tomato, a little bit bacon, a half of slice bread to become a sandwich. I get a lot of things but I’m not satisfied, I’m still hungry.

Fifth, maybe it’s just a teeny tiny thing but I found it quite distracted me. There are things that appear instantly, randomly and out of nowhere and then there isn’t anything that follows her sentence after that.

Those five things make me didn’t like it. But I think I should give credit to this book for telling the “heavy” subject. So that teenager more aware about it. It’s a very good thing, actually and I liked it. It’s even one of my favorite subjects in YA books, too bad it turn out differently. I guess it’s an okay book, then, though it isn’t for me.

Result: 2 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

