Review: Breathe Into Me by Sara Fawkes

18524000Blurb from Goodread

How did my life get so broken?  It’s a question Lacey St. James asks herself every day. Stuck raising her little brother in a trailer park while she works a dead end job at a grocery store, she has a stalker exboyfriend, a bad reputation, and no way out.

And then she meets Everett, whose presence changes her entire existence.

Everett is an outsider to her small community, in town for the summer housesitting one of the grand mansions off the Mississippi coast. When he saves her in a bar one night, she’s grateful but wary of his intentions. Lacey doesn’t trust most men in her life, but for reasons Lacey can’t understand, Everett is completely captivated by her. He’s determined to show her that life can offer more than she’d ever hoped for, if only she believes in herself. As she works with him to free herself, Lacey desperately yearns to trust him, to move on and perhaps start fresh.

But what happens when she finds out that everything he’s told her about himself was a lie?

Kindle Edition, 288 pages
Published April 8th 2014 by St. Martin’s Press
language edition: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
I think this book started pretty good, despite my feeling toward Lacey, the main character, who lets Ashley, her so-called friend, treats her like a trash. I just couldn’t understand why she lets Ashley uses her. So I’m happy when she realizes it and cut their friendship. Aside Ashley, most of everyone in her small town also treats her badly, especially her mom, her grandmother and her boyfriend. Again, I’m frustrated with the way she handles them. I really want her to have gut to stand up for herself, though I also quite understand her fear. The thing is she’s an adult. I see her as an adult so I want her to act like an adult, to stop reasoning her fear, stop running away and stop being a victim. On the other hand, her life creates drama and angst which are my guilty pleasure in romance books. Hence I really enjoyed reading it.

Unfortunately, the more I read it’s kind of loose focus to me. There are a lot of things, bad things happens to Lacey at the same time. In some part, it feels like it’s described only in the surface, not deep enough to make me connected to the characters and story well. And I feel like it becomes too much drama and angst. With those drama and angst, I think Lacey has to take her priority, decides what is the most important thing in her life. And when she doesn’t take it, I’m quite disappointed. I just can’t believe she’s barely does anything regarding her brother when I think he’s her priority in her life at the time. Yes, again I understand how deep her grandmother words influence her, but can she at least tries? It’s like she’s waiting every bad things to happen all at once before she seek help and handle it at the end of the story, all at the same time.

However, I really like the way Lacey and Everett relationship builds. It’s believable and makes sense to me. The same case happens to Lacey relationship with Clare. She takes both relationships slowly and it suits with her personality, a person who cannot trust people easily. I think this book has so much potential but at the same it also too much and lack something and there are inconsistency with the characters and the story.

ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.
Result: 2.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

