Review: Mortal Machine #1, Darkside Sun by Jocelyn Adams

20806102Blurb from Goodread

The dead have been waiting for her…

Addison Beckett tries hard to pretend she’s normal, but she’s far from it. Since she was six years old, she’s seen the world around her unraveling, as if someone is pulling a thread from a sweater and it’s all slowly coming undone. When she ignores it, it goes away, so that’s what she does.

Enter her arrogant-but-hot professor Asher Green. He knows all about her special brand of crazy. In fact, he might be just as nuts as she is. Asher insists that the dead from a parallel dimension are trying to possess the living in this one. And since Addison seems to be the only one who can see these “wraiths,” she just might be the key to saving the world.

Addison wants nothing to do with Asher or his secret society, The Mortal Machine. But as their animosity grows, she finds it harder and harder to ignore the chemistry between them. And when she discovers that Machine laws forbid her from touching him, she realizes that’s all she wants to do.

Stop the wraiths. Break the rules. Save the world. All in a day’s work.Normal was overrated, anyway.

ebook, 291 pages
Published March 10th 2014 by Entangled Publishing (Embrace)
language edition: English
series: Mortal Machine
genre: Paranormal, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
To be honest it’s quite hard for me to rate this book. In some part I enjoyed it but another part not so much. There are things I liked while there are also things I disliked. Just like my feeling of like and dislike in this book, I find that things in the story, the characters and the plot are quite the opposite and sometimes inconsistent in each other.

The characters
Addison Beckett. An eighteen years old college student whose can see “things” since she was six years old. Since she doesn’t want anyone think that she’s crazy, she keeps he ability to herself and makes her invisible and undesirable. But just like most of YA/NA books nowadays, she doesn’t realize that she’s pretty, desirable and able to do most everything other characters can’t do. Although it is clear from the beginning she’s attracted to her professor, I liked that she doesn’t let her attraction give herself up to him easily. And once she knows what she keeps seeing and who she can be, it doesn’t lure her in the first place. In fact she keeps fighting it and refuses to become one of them. She feels like she isn’t herself if she’s one of them. I liked these things about her because to me she can see beyond that pretty face, immortal life and all those talk that they are good-guys-lets-be-hero-for-our-world. On the other hand, she sometimes annoyed me. Asher treats her badly most of the time, she doesn’t like it and angry at him but one smile from him makes her forget about it.

I laughed, a sharp, frantic sound that shredded my sanity a little more

She’s also moody, indifference and inconsistent, and is annoying especially when she starts wandering in her head, giggling and laughing because something stress or freak her out and overanalyzing things. Reading from her POV can be exhausting. It’s like her mind is a web that intertwine each other.

Asher Green. An ancient civilization professor who also is a guardian who responsible to keeps the creatures that Addison keeps seeing at bay. He has to avoid them enter our world. As a guardian who called Sentinel, he along with other characters is immortal. Most of the time, I really didn’t like the way he treats Addison. I can see that he does it because he wants to protect her, but still he’s an ass especially when he keeps hot and cold to Addison. I understand that hot and cold attitude can make the story interesting but if it happens more than third times, it doesn’t that interesting anymore to me.

I thought it would be easier on you if you knew less, so you wouldn’t worry about it until the time came.

I also can’t understand why he doesn’t tell and explain Addison directly of what she sees and who they are, instead he makes her read a book about it which leads something happens and a lot of conversation about it. Those conversations are kinda frustrating me because it’s frustrating Addison, makes her unclear about things she has to deal. I’m also questioning his physical appearance. He said that he is twenty years old and he must be look like in early twenty, just like Addison said but I can’t believe there is no one who realize it aside her. I mean, don’t his students and other professor wondering about it? In this case, I’m not buying it. Yet I liked the idea that he keeps his eyes on her and put his jobs first than his feeling to her.

The story
First few chapters are so confusing. I couldn’t point out whether the bad creatures in this story are aliens as in ET kind of things or ghosts. Asher says they are ghosts but somehow I picture them like aliens who want to conquer the earth. The “other dimension” or Shift as he called is also confusing and in some part kind of unclear to me. Addison says that she lost time because of it. I understand it all right but then every time they and other characters are in and out of the Shift I didn’t feel that they lost time anymore. There aren’t things that describe that it’s different between the time in the Shift and in our normal world.

However, I think the story is quite good and refreshing. Well…I’m sure I never read any story like this before. With so many books out there about aliens and ghosts, this combo between sci-fi and paranormal is kind of interesting to read.

The Plot.
Just like Addison wandering mind and Asher hot and cold attitude. I think the plot is kind of overlapping. In some part I understand what the characters have to do and where the story goes but another part is like the story doesn’t know its priority, it loose track of what the story main focus and how the characters supposed to act. One time Addison and Asher do or speak about something but then it changes into something different without warning that it happens in different time. But other time, I enjoyed the flow of the story. One time it’s quite boring and predictable yet another time there are surprises in the story.

This book has really an interesting idea, I just wish the flow of the story and other aspects are better. It’s more than an okay, I really like the ending. It makes me want to read the sequel. Hope it has more focus on sci-fi/paranormal than the romance between Asher and Addison.

ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.
Result: 3 out of 5 stars
One thought on “Review: Mortal Machine #1, Darkside Sun by Jocelyn Adams

  1. Pingback: Midnight Dawn ~ a cover reveal | Y.A. Scribbles and Scoops

Leave a Reply

