Review: The Bet by Rachel Van Dyke

17560674Blurb from Goodread

“I have a proposition for you.” Kacey should have run the minute those words left Seattle millionaire Jake Titus’s mouth. It’s been years since Kacey’s seen her childhood friend Jake, but the minute Jake mentions his ill grandmother, Kacey is ready to do anything for the sweet old woman. And if that means pretending they’re engaged for her sake-so be it.

But Kacey wasn’t counting on Jake’s older brother Travis still being there. She calls him “Satan” for a reason: she’s never forgotten the way he teased and taunted her. Yet when they meet again, Travis’s gorgeous smile is a direct hit to her heart . . . and Kacey’s more confused than ever. As the days pass, only one thing starts to become alarmingly clear-she never should have accepted Jake’s deal . . .

Kindle Edition, 240 pages
Published March 26th 2013
language edition: English
series: The Bet
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
I’m glad I enjoyed and liked this book more than my first Rachel Van Dyke books, Ruins. It doesn’t have anything new, but I liked most of the things in it, especially the characters.

At first I wasn’t sure about the way it was written, in third person POV. Usually I prefer first person POV in romance story but here I can accept it as it can cover the story from the three main characters, Kacey, Travis and Jake and describe everything that happen to them well.

The author can also create interesting dialogues. I really like Kacey, Travis and Jake banter and not to mention Titus family dynamic, it’s so good it made me laugh out loud over the characters. Kacey, Travis and Jake are hilarious, though sometimes I feel they’re also immature. And I so love Grandma Nadine. She’s one of the kind, I hope I can meet her again in the sequel. Travis and Jake’s parents, Wescott and Bets are also adorable. Basically I love all of the characters, even the jackass Jake Titus.

However, there is one thing that I didn’t quite satisfy. Travis and Kacey relationship felt too fast for me. It isn’t an instalove, far from it since they’ve already known each other their whole life. But Kacey spent most of her life by thinking that she’s in love with Jake. And then she met Travis again after a couple years which made her realize that she’s in love with him. I mean sure she’s attracted to him, admire and lusting over him but it happened over the weekend when they meet again, three days on the weekend, to be exact. It didn’t quite convince me, to be honest. But It didn’t make me less enjoyed it, though.

Result: 3 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

