Review: Unbreakable by Rebecca Shea

17208961Blurb from Goodread

Jessica Harper is the epitome of perfection. She’s a good daughter, makes excellent grades, and always strays on the safe side of life. The last thing she thought would ever happen was falling in love with her best friend’s brother. But sometimes fate just has a way of bringing two people together.

Wide receiver for the University of Arizona, Gabe Garcia, seems to have it all. When his feelings for Jessica come to surface, Gabe will give up everything to be with her.

But what happens when a tragedy abruptly changes the course of your life? For Jessica and Gabe, everything they thought they knew about each other will be questioned. Sometimes, there are scars in life that are cut too deep to completely heal.

Will their love prove to be unbreakable, or will it shatter and prove fate is just another lie?

Kindle Edition, 339 pages
Published July 23rd 2013 by Rebecca Shea
language edition: English
series: Unbreakable
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
Sometimes I want to take a break reading contemporary romance New Adult (NA) books. But most of the time I keep telling myself that I might find a gem in this popular genre nowadays. I find most of NA books are predictable, too formulaic, so similar one and another. Even the blurbs sound the same, it mostly says it’s about guy meets girl with bad traumatic past who trust nobody. At this point I can’t rely on the blurb anymore. And I can’t rely on other reviews either since sometimes I’m in the minority side. Although I’m not a person whose judge a book from its cover, I need something to take my attention to read it. And it looks like NA books know that pretty cover can hold my attention when I scroll the bookstore shelves to choose what next NA book I will read.

This book is a perfect example of that case. The cover attracts me to read it. The girl on the cover looks so broken. Hence I thought it has angst and drama, something that I like from romance books. But first part of the story is so boring, nothing happen to Gabe and Jess except that they fall in love and cannot live without each other. At 45% of the story, my questions whether the cover suits the story is finally answered and the tragedy that the blurb says happens. I think this second part is better than the first one. However it still couldn’t make me glue to the story, many times I’m distracted by reading another books. There is something off with the way the characters speak. I’m sad for Gabe and especially Jess but it was hard for me to connect with their story.

There were also things that I just can’t believe (as in I-can’t-believe-she-did-it kind of thing) from the characters. Jess doesn’t realize that she took so many credits that she can be considered as a sophomore while she just begins her college life. It might be just me, though, since I don’t know about educational system in the US but I always chose classes I took carefully and discuss it with my advisor. So when Jess’ advisor told her that she has already taken many credits without she even realizes it, I just cannot understand her. And then after the tragedy happened, she cannot trust everybody, not even Gabe. I understand this all right. But then she meets Landon and for me she seems trust him enough. She even let him spending the night on their second encounter. It makes me wondering where does her trust issue go? She can’t trust Gabe and the Garcias who are like a family for her but she can trust Landon whom she only meets twice. 2 encounters beats 14 years easily.

I can understand why most readers love this book, though. You might like it too. It has perfect ingredients in NA books. A beautiful insecurity heroine, swoon worthy hero, a tattooed bad guy as secondary character, best friend material character and most importantly characters with baggage. I like the ingredients, I really do, unfortunately it just didn’t work for me this time.

Result: 2 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

