Review: Unspoken #1, Where Love Finds You by Marilyn Grey

17937445Blurb from Goodread

Years ago, Ella Rhodes looked across a crowded cafe and saw the man she wanted to spend the rest of her life with. She left her number, but he never called. Wondering if he somehow missed the note on the back of the receipt, she spent her twenties waiting for this man to walk into her life again. After all this time, will Ella finally discover “the one” she’s been waiting for? Or, after being sent on various blind dates, will she give her heart to someone else?

Meanwhile, Matthew Ryan breaks up with his long-time girlfriend. Searching his heart he wonders if there is really a “one” for every person, or if there is simply a good, better, and best. Where does Lydia, the girl who would do anything for him, fit into the story of his life? Confused, Matthew sets out to explore his options and find the love he’s been looking for his entire life. Will he find love before it’s too late or will he lose everything?

Kindle Edition, 160 pages
Published May 19th 2013 by Winslet Press
language edition: English
series: Unspoken
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
Just like any other romance books from authors I never heard, I never set my hope. Not because I don’t believe them, but because I want to read their books without any pressure or whatsoever because stories in romance books tend to get predictable, reuse and as cliche as they can be. So I read this book without anything in my mind except that it’s another book that I hope I can enjoy.

This book in fact as cliche as romance movies I used to watch once in a while but it works for me in a strange way. Reading this book is like watching Serendipity where the characters meet every single possible way but never actually really meet. You know what I mean, right? Those scenes always make me mad, in a way. I always frustrated and want to scream at the characters and tell them to turn around and find their soul mate just in front of or behind or near each other. That’s what happens with Ella, the main character of the story. She searches and waits for her soul mate for ten years. She literally searching and waiting for him. At some point I can’t believe of the way she thinks. It’s like her sole purpose in her life is to find him. And at the same time she misses other things in her life. Her friends said she’s being idealistic, I think she’s being a dreamer. I consider myself as a dreamer too but I don’t think I’ve ever think the same way as her. On the other hand, there are so many things that happen to her and other characters are also happen to me. What they think about their love ones, marriage life and life itself too familiar for me because one way or another I’m thinking it too. Although I didn’t quite like the way Ella thinks in the beginning, I get the idea and understand why the author put her that way.

I wonder why I enjoyed reading this book so much with all those cliche things. Maybe it’s because somehow I can relate it to my life or maybe it’s because I read this book right on my birthday. I know that I get older but haven’t had things I really want to and am kinda afraid that my life will be as cliche as chickflick or chicklit. Either way, I think it’s okay if I read or watch cliche things in my life just to have choices and take chances, like Ella said

“Sometimes when you take chances you lose chances. And sometimes when you lose chances, you gain something else. Don’t live for chances. Sometimes it’s better to lose chance and gain purpose. Live for today. You’ll find so much more joy.”

I obviously take chance out of many choices of books I have for this book. And I’m happy I take it because Ella and other characters are kind of teach me something here. I ended up thinking that this is a good book for my birthday! Couldn’t be more perfect.

Result: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

