Review: Elemental #3, Sprit by Brigid Kemmerer

13494365Blurb from Goodreads

With power comes enemies. Lots of them.

Hunter Garrity just wants to be left alone. He’s learned the hard way that his unusual abilities come at a price. And he can’t seem to afford any allies.

He’s up to his neck in hostiles. His grandfather, spoiling for a fight. The Merrick brothers, who think he ratted them out. Calla, the scheming psycho who wants to use him as bait.

Then there’s Kate Sullivan, the new girl at school. She’s not hostile. She’s bold. Funny. Hot. But she’s got an agenda, too.

With supposedly secret powers rippling to the surface everywhere around him, Hunter knows something ugly is about to go down. But finding out what means he’ll have to find someone he can trust…

ebook, 284 pages
Published May 28th 2013 by Kensington Books
edition language: English
series: Elemtal
genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
I’m not quite a fan of Hunter, not because he isn’t a Merrick but because he keeps using them for his own purpose. Somehow I think he’s a bad guy in disguise who hasn’t made up his mind in this whole series. I can’t trust him. I’m always wondering which side he is.

I think that’s what makes it different from any other books and novellas in the series. I get that what the Merricks think is right and good, it could be wrong from other perspective and vice versa. There is always gray area and two side of a coin. I see that in this book. In Storm and Spark and Breathless novella I always know who the good and the evil guy since it tells from the Merricks. While here, I feel like I have to keep reading to know whose side Hunter is, though I always know about it too. I understand what Hunter feels and his confusion. And I like him questioning everything, those two sides of a coin. I think it makes him more dangerous and at the same time more human, if it’s even possible. And then, the romance, Hunter and Kate’s relationship, it doesn’t take huge part in this book. Yes, there are steamy scenes but it doesn’t there all along the story. It has less romance than its sequels, both books and novellas. It isn’t about Hunter finding his love, but it’s about him finding himself, just like the author said.

But it also still has things that I love from this series. The Merricks, of course and always love reading their relationship with each other, with bonus a glimpse of Chris and Becca, Gabriel and Layne, Nick and Quinn and Michael and Hannah which I really look forward. And as usual, I love the writing and the flow of the story. There isn’t any single moment that makes me bored.


Although I’m beginning to like Hunter now, my favorite so far is still Spark and Gabriel among the Merricks. It might change, though because I’m really curious and eager to read Michael story since
Storm
Result: 3.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

