Review: These Days #1.5, Forgotten Yesterday by Renee Ericson

17792184Blurb from Goodreads

Ruby Miller’s future was on track when she entered her freshman year of college at the University of Chicago. Everything seemed easy, possible, and full of hope, especially with Brent by her side.

However, life didn’t go as planned and obstacles arose setting her on a very different path from the one she had envisioned.

Now, five years later, Ruby is piecing her life back together and moving on from everything that once tore her apart.

What happens though, when the one person who carries every memory of Ruby’s happiest and darkest moments appears unexpectedly before her? Will she carry on or dive deep into her forgotten yesterday?

ebook, 198 pages
Published December 15th 2013
edition language: English
series: These Days
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
First, I like the title. It suits with the prequel and the story. And it sounds nice and intriguing since I know the main characters, Ruby and Brent, have their happy ending at the end of book 1, After Tuesday.  The title of this novella indicates that there is something bad happen to them that they need to forget. It’s intriguing me.

Second, I liked the way Ruby tells their story. The flow of the flashback is nicely written. I got the good part as well as the bad part of their life along the story in unexpected way, though at some part they are also quite predictable.

Third, I forgot that the way Ruby tells the story can be a bit distracting and sometime frustrating me. She tells everything in detail, way detail and descriptive more than I thought it should be. I still don’t like it but then I think I can bear it now.

Fourth, despite the detail description that Ruby tells me, there are things that are also left unclear. I don’t know whether it’s because it’s a novella and will explain in book 2, Deciding Tomorrow, but I’m not quite satisfied with those unclear things.
Sixth, Brent career as a soccer player. It doesn’t explain much while it is one of the reasons they stay apart and have an important connection to the story. Fortunately, I know a little bit about football player transfer since I love football or soccer as Ruby and Brent know. Reading Brent explanation about his soccer career, there are things that quite unclear and makes me questioning it. 1) Brent said that he played for Sweden. It’s kinda impossible since he’s an American. He can do it if he changes his nationality. Unless what he means is that he played for Sweden League. I think if it is the case, he should tell readers that he played for Sweden League since there are two big different meaning between Sweden (plays for a country) and Sweden League.

It leads to 2). He got a contract when the season is already in progress. It’s more likely on July to August in Sweden League transfer window (transfer season). If the club he plays is also plays at another competition both in Sweden (The Swedish Cup) and/or European (either UEFA Champions league or UEFA Europa league), it will make him cannot play on those other competition since he joins in the middle of the season, which makes him (sort of) useless since he’s a rockie who has limited experiences in European country leagues. Unless his club wants to spend a great invest to his soccer skill. It might be a teeny tiny thing but it’s quite important to me since it can also connect to the time setting when Brent goes back to US and the way Ruby meets him again.

All in all, I think it’s an okay novella. I can say that I enjoyed it more than book 1 but it also has things I didn’t quite like. And because of my curiosity, I think I’ll read the sequel. I just hope all the things that left unclear here, will have the answers in book 2.

ARC was provided by the author in exchange for honest review.
Result: 2.5 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

