Review: Legend #2, Prodigy by Marie Lu

13414446Blurb from Goodreads

June and Day arrive in Vegas just as the unthinkable happens: the Elector Primo dies, and his son Anden takes his place. With the Republic edging closer to chaos, the two join a group of Patriot rebels eager to help Day rescue his brother and offer passage to the Colonies. They have only one request—June and Day must assassinate the new Elector.
It’s their chance to change the nation, to give voice to a people silenced for too long.

But as June realizes this Elector is nothing like his father, she’s haunted by the choice ahead. What if Anden is a new beginning? What if revolution must be more than loss and vengeance, anger and blood—what if the Patriots are wrong?

In this highly-anticipated sequel to the New York Times bestseller Legend, Lu delivers a breathtaking thriller with high stakes and cinematic action.

ebook, 292 pages
Published January 29th 2013 by Putnam Juvenile
edition language: English
series: Legend
genre: Dystopia, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
I think it’s because most of things that bother me in Legend turn out to be good things here.

1) Although I still feel a little bit similarity between Day and June POV, it didn’t bother me much anymore. It might be because of their different situation they have to face, hence they don’t have the same things to explain anymore; or it might be because Day is rarely pay much attention in detail anymore, he gives the jobs to June, mostly; or maybe they just grow up along the story and finally find their own voice. Either way, I can tell the difference and see that they are two different characters.

2) My questions about the life before the Republic and the Colonies established are answered here. It was so good and believable I finally bought it.

3) This sequel still has a lot of actions scenes that makes my heart beat fast and I felt like I want to run with them. It wasn’t the only thing that glued me to the story, though. Unlike Legend, Prodigy is unpredictable. Yes, I can still guess minor things but sometimes I couldn’t do it from the beginning, I have to see it for pages to catch the gist. And I just love the way the story makes me thinking, wandering, questioning and picturing different scenarios of what will happen next to the story and characters. My friend, Billie must be sick of hearing my scenarios, because I did give her many scenarios and most of them were wrong! For me, my wandering mind is a good sign that I’m into the story. It means that I care enough and curious enough to be part of the story. And boy….Marie Lu did great jobs throwing surprises and twists along the story. And the fact that both June and Day cannot trust even a single character is like a mind game to me because I felt that there is no one I can trust either.

4) June and Day are still 15 years old. The sequel doesn’t make them older. To be honest, there is part of me that couldn’t buy it. But most of the time, I think I finally believe that beyond their young age, they are indeed capable of what they have to do.

5) And finally I can say that I love June and Day relationship. It doesn’t work easily since there are so many stories from their past, but it’s what I love. I want characters who are struggling. And they do struggling to work it well. However I didn’t quite like the ending. It feels cliche to me. Sorry, Billie I have to disagree with you. The ending that I was so waiting for because you told me that it’s to die for sort of anticlimactic for me.

All in all, I really liked it but not enough for me to give it perfect rating. So 4 stars from me and I’m heading to Champion now!

Result: 4 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

