Review: Stupid Girl by Cindy Miles

21957919Blurb from Goodreads

Only fools fall in love…

After her senior year of high school leaves behind nothing but heartache, Olivia Beaumont is sure of this: She’s no stupid girl. She sets out for Winston College, promising herself that she will remain focused on her first and only love – astronomy. But all it takes is cocky sophomore Brax Jenkins and an accidental collision with a football, to throw her entire year off course.

A quick-tempered Southie who escaped the inner city streets of Boston to pitch for Winston, Brax is known to play way more fields than just the baseball diamond. So, when his name is drawn to take part in his fraternity’s hazing dare, Brax eagerly accepts the mission to take Olivia’s virginity. But he doesn’t plan on falling hard for the sweet and sassy Texas girl who sees right through his bad-boy persona.

As Olivia and Brax battle their feelings for each other, echoes of the past year begin to surface. A boy who once turned Olivia’s whole world upside down reappears, and “harmless” pranks wreak havoc. Pretty soon the aspiring astronomer is on the verge of revealing her most difficult, heartbreaking secret. All the while, Brax must wrestle with the irrevocable dare, and Olivia struggles against all logic as she does the one thing only a stupid girl would do: fall in love.

ebook, 332 pages
Published May 13th 2014 by TKA Distribution
edition language: English
genre: Contemporary, Romance, New Adult
My Thoughts
I’m sure I can’t avoid cliche things in life. And sometimes I just feel like I need reading cliche story to entertain my mood. Stupid Girl is a cliche and predictable kind of story which I don’t mind, to be honest, if it handles well. That’s why I requested it in a first place. And it also has what I call my guilty pleasure. A popular athlete falls in love with a shy nerd girl with baggage as ingredients of the story. I should like this ingredients, but somehow it’s just didn’t work for me.

First of all the insta-love, or maybe it’s just insta-lust? Whatever it called it doesn’t suit with Olivia, the main character, personalities. She said she wants to be invisible and doesn’t trust anybody. But only in two days she tells Braxton, her love interest, almost everything about her. Maybe it’s just me but I surely don’t tell someone I don’t know where I come from, how many brothers I have and what do I do in my spare time and any personal info. And she didn’t do anything to him when he kissed her right after they met! Like, a minute after they eyes hold each other just because he couldn’t resist it! And she lets him push her answer questions that she didn’t want to answer. Why didn’t she just say no is beyond me.

And then, I didn’t quite like the way she tells her story. It’s too much monologue for my taste and she also keeps telling me the same things over and over, though sometimes in different words and/or sentences, but still. I understand what she means well enough and don’t need her telling me more than two times. In this case, I think the book can be cut out into shorter pages.

I enjoy the story of a bad boy turns into a good boy because he falls in love with a good girl, but I also want to read that bad boy can really be a good boy without any single doubt in my mind. Braxton is a bad boy to the core. It’s so easy for him to punch every single guy who show his interest to her or even just check her out. This caveman act isn’t sexy for me, especially when he can also hurt her. It’s like he sees every guy as a punching bag. Although he never hit Olivia (she’s sure about it and believe he never do it), it’s just he seems crazy to me.

He also has I’m-not-good-for-you-so-we-should-stay-away-but-then-I-can’t-do-it-so-I-stalk-you attitude. This kind of character is so over-use I want to tell him to stop acting he doesn’t want her and just make up his mind.

Oh, there is also time when Olivia find Braxton accent is cute, it is cute when she first mention it. But it’s just irritating and annoying when most of the time Braxton speak, she repeats it with those accent. I don’t know about Boston accent whatsoever but for me it sounds her make fun of him.

This is just another case of typical NA book with supposed to be perfect things in the story but somehow isn’t my cup of tea.

ARC was provided by the author/publisher via NetGalley in exchange for honest review.
Result: 2 out of 5 stars
Leave a Reply

