Review: A Shade of Vampire #6, A Gate of Night by Bella Forrest

18967087Blurb from Goodreads

Welcome back to The Shade…

Derek and Sofia are finally enjoying a well-deserved break. Staying at a resort with good food, sun and sea, Sofia is thrilled to witness Derek’s re-introduction to the human world.

They would almost be mistaken for a normal young couple, if it were not for the red-eyed monster lurking in the shadows and watching their every move, waiting for his signal to pounce…

Kindle Edition, 229 pages
Published March 11th 2014
edition language: English
series: A Shade of Vampire
genre: Paranormal, Romance, Young Adult
My Thoughts
When I first met Sofia and Derek more than a year ago, I couldn’t help not to fall in love with them and their story. And since then, I really enjoyed reading the series and it’s always on my top reading priority. But after 6 books I’m not sure anymore.

It’s because I don’t know what the main focus in this series anymore. And there are always new bad guys in each book. First there were Lucas and Gregor Novak, and then Borys and Ingrid Maslen. Next was Emilia, a daughter of The Elder. Now there are another Elder’s children, Kiev and Clara and later there are more villains reveal for next book. As the antagonists change, the focus of the story is also changes. The problem is the protagonists don’t know what and who they have to face. Thus, I don’t know either. It’s like they (and I do too, as a reader) keep in the dark. I actually don’t mind being don’t know what will I read in order to get surprise along the story, but in this book it’s just dragging and in some part I’m bored. I also have problem with the way some of the characters tell their POV. They talk the same thing over and over.

However, I liked the twist at the end of the book. I think it is good enough for me to keep reading this series, though I’ve changed my priority now. It isn’t on my top reading list anymore. Not after this dragging and kind of boring story.

Result: 3 out of 5 stars
13 thoughts on “Review: A Shade of Vampire #6, A Gate of Night by Bella Forrest

      • Wow!! OMG! Thanks for updating me. I didn’t know the final book is already released. I’d definitely check it out in kindle. 🙂 I honestly love this series. There are some flaws but I can’t just take Sofia and Derek for granted. I love their love story and the way they fight for the obstacles on their way. 🙂 How about you?

      • It’s been a while since I updated my blog. So when I read your comment, am glad there’s someone whom I can discuss this series with me 🙂

        I love Sofia and Derek relationship and so eager to know whether Vivienne gets her happy ending (I hope she gets it! As she deserves it) and my goodness the ending of A Gate of Night, it left me so many feelings.

        However, I didn’t quite like the multiple POV in the last two books. It were kinda distracted my focus because I have to juggling between one person to another POV. And the villains are too many for my taste. I mean I just don’t know who they have to fight and who is the biggest enemy for the vampire because they keep changing throughout the books. I think in a way it’s good it’s finally over. What do you think?

      • I really agree with you with the multiple POVs. I wish it was just focused on Sofia and Derek alone. But as a whole, it’s not bad right? Have you read the 7th book by the way? Actually, there’s an 8th book! It’s called “A Shade of Kiev”. I’m soooo excited!

      • No, it isn’t bad. It’s just…compare to the first three books, I was kind of disappointed with book 4 & 5. But as a whole series it’s still good. I’ll reread it in the future, for sure 🙂

        Yes, there will be another book. I think it’s a new series? or some kind of spin-off? as most reviewers say book 7 is the final one of Derek and Sofie story. If it’s indeed a spin-off, could it be Kiev story? I have to read book 7 sooner than later to figure it out.

        When are you going to read book 7? maybe we can read it together and then discuss it 🙂 There isn’t any of my friends in Goodreads who has read all of the books so I can’t discuss it.

      • I’m still on Book 6, A Gate of Night and I’m already at 74%. I’d finish it today and perhaps start reading the 7th book next week, Monday. How about that? 🙂 I think reading together is fun! I have a friend on goodreads who’s also going to read the 7th book but I don’t know when she’ll start it. She has lots of TBR’s. hehe… by the way, I think we’re not yet friends on goodreads? Do add me here 🙂 https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/31514572-pearl-angeli. I’m excited to read with you! 😀

      • Ah…I’m sorry, I don’t think I can read it on Monday next week. I’ll be on vacation till August 3rd. I’ll read some books, for sure, I’m just not sure whether I can read it with my usual reading speed. I usually take it slower and do it whenever am in the mood 🙂

        But if you want to read it next week, go ahead. You don’t have to wait for me. I’m like your friend, I also have lots of TBR but I can always squeeze books that I’m in the mood to read 😀

        I’ll request your friendship on Goodreads in a minute. See you there!

      • Sure. Well, it’s also okay. 🙂 We can read the 7th book together once you’re into it. I also don’t think I can read it on Monday since I feel like I want to read other books on my TBR’s too. I’ll just wait for you then. 🙂 Hehe!

      • Hehehe, there will always other books we want to read, right?

        I’m ready to read it anytime on August. I haven’t had reading schedule yet, well…aside 12 ARCs I have to read and review 🙂

      • I think it’s because the multiple POVs. Book 6 still has multiple POVs but not as much as book 4 & 5, I think.

        And everything is going to be a disaster in book 6. So many things happen at the same time.

      • Yeah, I know. I’m already here in this part where Kiev takes the liberty of resting his head on Sofia’s lap while telling her everything about his past. Why, I don’t know why I love the fact that Kiev is attracted to Sofia. Weird me. lol

Leave a Reply

